Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is a great batter! Had some fresh fish and wanted a good batter for fish tacos and I found this. Use a good beer, no lite. Use more or less of any of these spices, it depends on what you like. You do need to pat dry or batter will not stick. Do not over cook your fish. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
first I not a great fan of spice so if you're like me reduce the garlic and paprika to 2 teaspoons then ad some vinegar an baking powder or better some baking soda. the vinegar and soda make a crisper batter when fried (learned that from a successful fish and chip wagon hey,the UK know what there talking about) they where so good that my best friend said they where better then the fish and chips she had ever had. better then the ones her family would travel 10 hours there and back from Toronto just for those fish and chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BloomofSparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
What a great recipe!..I do mix my beer with equal amounts of flour and allow it to set covered for several hours. When I'm ready to use it I add the rest of the ingredients the recipe call for. I also dust my fish with flour before I dip in batter this allows the batter to stick to the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This recipe is delicious the batter was nice and crunchy. The paprika gives it a nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I didn't have beer, so I used LaCroix Lemon Seltzer. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I really loved this. It was a tad greasy, but that is what I love about authentic fish and chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
One can of beer, 1 1/2 cup of all purpose flour, one teaspoon (each of) salt, onion powder, garlic powder, and pepper. I used it to fry chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
If you use the beer and flour only suggestion (which makes a great batter), be sure to season the fish heavily. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My family simply loved it, I did change the garlic powder for grated garlic, but still turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daduke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Just tried this recipe today and followed all the instructions, exactly. It was wonderful! I didn't use the suggestion to coat the fish with flour, first and the batter still stuck like glue to the fish. I didn't notice that it was overly salty, either, but maybe that's because I used a 'scant' two teaspoons of salt. I instinctively knew that was a lot of salt so I was conservative with it, while still adhering to the recipe. Great batter. Will also try on onion rings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States