Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. As I always have batter left over when I fry fish, I decided to make onion rings as well. I used a deep fryer and heated it to the correct degree, then put in the battered rings. When they were "done" I took them out, but could NOT get them out of the fryer basket. They were stuck on. Tried every kind of tool to get them off. Scraped off what I could and tried the fish-same result. The majority of the fish was stuck to the basket (in a deep fryer full of oil?!). The seasonings were a bit much, too. So I think I'll stick to my milk and egg and flour recipe and an old fashion frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aparri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was good. Had a great crunch to it. Will try putting in a little more spices for my own taste, but will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I never make fish because I hate fish. But my husband loves it so I thought I would give this a try for him. He loved it! I decided to give it a taste. Craziest thing - I liked it. I hate a whole piece. I would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
My batter didn't turn out well. I do wish I read the comments first. I gave it three stars, but I will try it again, hubby likes the beer battering on fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon_C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
i have made this twice now. I used the batter for cod, chicken tenders and fresh cut french fries! Yum. I also used two different beers. The french fries worked well with a stout and the meat with an amber pale ale. I do flour/season salt before I dip the food in batter. My husband requested the chicken again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I've tried a lot of battered fish recipes and this one turned out the best. I found cutting the fish to smaller pieces works best and dredge in flour before dipping in the batter. Batter sticks to the fish better that way. Definitely will make again - the search for the perfect fried fish is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Yum - this was delicious. I followed other reviewers and dipped the fish first in flour and then in the batter, and it stuck beautifully. I had some batter left and used it for onion rings. They were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I read the reviews before I made this...I seen a number of reviews that thought it was too salty. Well...I don't know if this made a difference or not but I followed the advice of one of the reviews that said to let the batter once mixed sit for 3 hours. My family didn't think it was salty at all in fact...I said the next time I make it I will probably season a little more. Used the remaining batter for onion rings...what a light, quick and delicious meal. Also...thanks for the tip on dredging the fish in flour before frying...did that with the onion rings as well and didn't lose any batter on any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I tried the batter the way that PrettyMissusR suggested. and these were awesome! my husband loves fish and chips but i have never tried to make it at home. this was easy and delicious! I made onion rings out of the rest of the batter, which were just as yummy! thanks for posting this recipe and the added suggestions all : Two thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Excellent overall recipe. I questioned the huge amount of salt and pepper and garlic powder in it so I halved it. It was fine for me. Just make sure the oil is HOT or you will have soggy battered fish. Definitely roll the fish fillets in flour first or the batter just slides off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States