Beer Batter Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Made these at my local bar (easier to use their fryer than do at home). They disappeared like smoke. I use a little less flour (1 bottle beer to 1 cup flour) to make a slightly thinner batter, as I like to use sandwhich slices (stackers) as opposed to quarters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These are unbelievably good. I fell in love with fried pickles at the AllRecipes Southern Round up in Florida. I never thought that I would be able to make these better than the ones that I had there but this recipe does it. I was a little worried when reading the recipe beccause I always dredged my food in the flour first, then in the beer batter. This recipe calls for just the opposite. So, I compromised, I dredged in the flour then in the batter and then again in the flour. I cannot believe how crispy this batter was. Even after sitting on the table for 30 minutes or so the breading was incredibly crisp. I am going to try using this recipe on fish and shrimp to see if it will remain crisp. This is definitely my go to fried pickle recip from now on. Thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I love fried pickles but thought I'd never be able to make them...Well I was wrong! These are superb! Once the pickles are coated in the batter, they're a little slippery trying to get coated with flour, but it can be done! These are amazing - I highly recommend them and will DEFINITELY make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geary, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Boonville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Oh yeah, these were FANTASTIC! The batter was wonderfully crisp and delicious! Made as written and feel it's perfect as is. My only criticism is that there was too much batter for the amount of pickles specified. I had more pickles than called for and I still had some batter left. This would be a great batter for lots of different items. Served these w/ 'Quesidilla Jalapeno Spread' from here for dipping...Perfect match! My dad, who doesn't care for pickles (or fried food, lol) stopped by and I convinced him to try one...he ended up eating a few more than one, lol, and said that they had very good flavor and crunch. I will def. be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These are awesome. Makes a lot more batter than needed for half a jar. Used the whole jar and still had batter/flour left over. These were crispy and tasty! Messy to make but worth it! Made with the quesadilla jalapeno dip from this site as suggested by another viewer. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bbfd2382
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made this recipe, found that beer batter needed a boost other than seasoned salt. beer batter very flour flavored. recommed additional ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Batter is a little too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Needs more flavor. Makes way too much batter. Batter needs to be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This batter is very crunchy! But it does lack flavor, just something missing. I tried this with generic brand pickles that were very thickly sliced and I know that was my fault, not the recipe. But I did remove some fried batter from the pickle to tast on its own. This would be a 5 star recipe if someone could figure out how to punch up the flavor. I tried adding more pepper and garlic but it didnt seem to make enough difference. Maybe just frying it in peanut oil would add flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
ok, I use allrecipes ALL THE TIME in my kitchen and i often enjoy the results, but have yet to leave a review, but I felt I HAD to throw my 2 cents in on this particular recipe, I followed the recipe to a T and it was FANTASTIC i started out with 1/2 a jar as it said but after tasting one my boyfriend and i just went ahead and made the whole jar, they were wonderful,crispy,tangy and dipped in a little ranch dressing PERFECT, this is absolutely my new guilty pleasure craving, even just writing the review I'm wondering if i have the ingredients in the kitchen to make another batch :) wonderful job and thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalRose418

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States