Beer Batter Crepes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
wow, this was really good, I was scared to put beer in my brunch, but this tasted so great I chased it with the rest of the twelve pack! mmmmmmm, yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
OH MY GOD these are good. Made a smaller batch yesterday just to make sure the recipe was good, and they disappeared out of the pan to my housemates as fast as I was making them! Everyone is Demanding More, so it's crepes for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I was a bit concerned about the beer...and it turns out rightly so. They were OK. My husband and our friend, both beer drinkers, loved them. I wasn't totally sold on them. The beer flavor really stood out. I filled the crepes with marinated beef cubes and mushrooms in a light sauce. We also made a dessert with pudding and chocolate sauce. I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
These came out really well with beer for savory crepes, also good with champagne for sweet/fruity crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tazewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is a great recipe, but instead of using beer, I use coconut milk and for fruity crepes I use cinnamon, sugar and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
DELICOUS -- Tried many recipes b4 this is the best one! Made the batter b4 dinner. For desert - layout several flavors of ice cream and toppings of sprinkles, fresh fruits, whip cream, etc. Cooked the crepe and everyone picked the fillings and toppings for their dessert. The crepes – a great success. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This is a great quick recipe for crepes. I followed the directions exactly, which I rarely do, and they were perfect. I have a more traditional recipe for crepes that I make on special occassions, but it takes a long time to prepare. This is perfect for those days when one wants crepes but does not want to spend hours in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nskiddo21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Silver Strand, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Not bad, but I preferred Clare's. I did both of them for Pancake Tuesday and these turned out a bit spongy, the other's were better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This makes great crepes, both for salty and dessert crepes (so says my French husband as well). His only issue was that he had to add more milk just before frying them up to get the right consistency. We'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Great crepes that I filled with leftover chicken, spinach and Pepper Jack cheese and topped with a cheesy white sauce. Delicious and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States