Beer Batter Crepes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
wow, this was really good, I was scared to put beer in my brunch, but this tasted so great I chased it with the rest of the twelve pack! mmmmmmm, yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
OH MY GOD these are good. Made a smaller batch yesterday just to make sure the recipe was good, and they disappeared out of the pan to my housemates as fast as I was making them! Everyone is Demanding More, so it's crepes for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I was a bit concerned about the beer...and it turns out rightly so. They were OK. My husband and our friend, both beer drinkers, loved them. I wasn't totally sold on them. The beer flavor really stood out. I filled the crepes with marinated beef cubes and mushrooms in a light sauce. We also made a dessert with pudding and chocolate sauce. I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
These came out really well with beer for savory crepes, also good with champagne for sweet/fruity crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tazewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is a great recipe, but instead of using beer, I use coconut milk and for fruity crepes I use cinnamon, sugar and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
DELICOUS -- Tried many recipes b4 this is the best one! Made the batter b4 dinner. For desert - layout several flavors of ice cream and toppings of sprinkles, fresh fruits, whip cream, etc. Cooked the crepe and everyone picked the fillings and toppings for their dessert. The crepes – a great success. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Not bad, but I preferred Clare's. I did both of them for Pancake Tuesday and these turned out a bit spongy, the other's were better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This is a great quick recipe for crepes. I followed the directions exactly, which I rarely do, and they were perfect. I have a more traditional recipe for crepes that I make on special occassions, but it takes a long time to prepare. This is perfect for those days when one wants crepes but does not want to spend hours in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nskiddo21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Silver Strand, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
These are the REAL deal. We had a French exchange student and this is how she'd make them, except she'd add a bit of rum to the batter. YUMMY - no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Phelps Babcock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gassville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I blame myself for the fact that I had a hard time making these crepes as thin as I wanted them. Next time I will try the suggestion of adding a bit more milk. I think the flavor of the crepes is really up to the quality of beer you use. I made nutella crepes with Newcastle Brown Ale as my chosen beer, and the flavors complimented each other so well! The beer was NOT overwhelming by any means, but then again, I am a beer drinker. My dad loves Nutella crepes, and I'll be glad to include him on this idea of adding beer to the batter. Can't wait for him to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G-ma's Gal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States