Beer Batter Crepes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Phenomenal flavor for savory crepes. It seems that the CO2 in the beer helps make this batter smoother and ready to go without much in the way of resting (though it's always a good idea if you have the time), but I was able to use the batter right away with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DunnerMeister

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Next time I will make 1/2 cup heavy cream 1/2 cup milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This is a really nice light crepe with the slightest sweetness from the beer. I used apples sauted in cinnamon-sugar. Everyone loved the crepe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This makes great crepes, both for salty and dessert crepes (so says my French husband as well). His only issue was that he had to add more milk just before frying them up to get the right consistency. We'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
These came out really well with beer for savory crepes, also good with champagne for sweet/fruity crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tazewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is a great recipe, but instead of using beer, I use coconut milk and for fruity crepes I use cinnamon, sugar and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This is a great quick recipe for crepes. I followed the directions exactly, which I rarely do, and they were perfect. I have a more traditional recipe for crepes that I make on special occassions, but it takes a long time to prepare. This is perfect for those days when one wants crepes but does not want to spend hours in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nskiddo21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Silver Strand, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I was a bit concerned about the beer...and it turns out rightly so. They were OK. My husband and our friend, both beer drinkers, loved them. I wasn't totally sold on them. The beer flavor really stood out. I filled the crepes with marinated beef cubes and mushrooms in a light sauce. We also made a dessert with pudding and chocolate sauce. I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
DELICOUS -- Tried many recipes b4 this is the best one! Made the batter b4 dinner. For desert - layout several flavors of ice cream and toppings of sprinkles, fresh fruits, whip cream, etc. Cooked the crepe and everyone picked the fillings and toppings for their dessert. The crepes – a great success. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
SOOOOOOOO Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States