Beer-Baked Irish Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This stew fit the bill perfectly for a gathering of my Irish Jewish family. Since it had no potatoes, I decided to make tiny potato latkes (the kind from a bag), brown them in the oven until they were very crispy and serve them around the perimeter of the stew bowls as a garnish/starchy side. It was a huge hit! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Beer-Baked Irish Beef" was good. If I were to make it again, I would chop the onions in small pieces and caramelize them for aesthetics (not cut in eighths and add raw - not sure about authenticity) before adding to the slow cooker, although I just noticed that Saveur's photo shows a way to cut the onions such that they appear attractive (unlike mine). I would also use baby carrots and add some fingerling potatoes and Worcestershire sauce as another variation. This recipe was very flavorful "as is," but a soup bone might be a nice addition if I were serving guests (although not necessary). I served mine with colcannon for St. Patrick's Day. It is a nice easy recipe to make on a busy day. Thank you pollock1231 for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I have made this recipe many times, and it always turns out great. Tonight I made it with Diane's Colcannon recipe, they are great together. I usually save these recipes for St. Patrick's day, but had all the veggies for these in my CSA box this week. I cooked it on high for 2.5 hours today, but have also done it on low for 6-8 hours, both always turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
A great hearty recipe! I added some red potatoes in exchange for some of the meat. I also added a whole can of beef broth, as other users suggested, in order to make it more of a stew. Worchester sauce next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is not the best stew I have made. It was okay. Needed salt and just seemed like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
An excellant stew recipe and I made it in my crock pot !! My husband even had 2 helpings and liked it very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Marler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I did most of this recipe, except I only used 3 onions. I used Guinness and as someone else suggested I added Bovril diluted down as a broth. I also added small white potatoes cut in half. I used a Trio gravy mix to thicken up the fluid it turned out well to dunk bread in. But one thing I did, I did it at 12 midnight, and let it cook till 4:30 the following day. As my friend says...Deilcious! The meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I will make this again but no allspice next time; Also, I must have used an unusal brand of beer because it was overpowering. I had to all Worcestershire, sugar and some white wine to cut it. Next time I'll use Bud. Recipe made excellent gravy and I served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I have been making a similar recipe for years using a roast that I cut into chunks, flour and brown, then place into crockpot. I add baby carrots and chunks of onion and a bit of sea salt and ground black pepper. I add one envelope of dried onion soup and cover completely with Michelob AMBERBOCK beer. The meat falls apart, it is so tender. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. Serve with mashed potatoes and use liquid as gravy. It smells heavenly! Might need a bit of spicing up for some of you, but we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I don't like strong beer for cooking anything. I still use the old favorite, the original light beer. "Grain Belt"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States