Beer-Baked Irish Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was really good. The only thing I changed was to add a bit of beef stock to my crock pot for a bit more flavor, and added celery and potatoes to the mix. I then thickened the gravy with a bit of corn starch. The beef was very tender, and the beer (I used Guinness) gave it an excellent flavor without being overpowering. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Absolutely awesome stew !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
really great when done right. The only word of caution i have is don't let the beer reduce too much in the pan because it can get a VERY unpleasant bitter taste that pretty much ruins the stew. The first time i made this it was so good, but the second time i made this mistake and it was not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This is a delicious stew! My wife and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was good, although I found the sweet taste from the allspice to be a bit odd. I added potatoes and celery and also a can of beef broth so it was more like a stew. Otherwise there's hardly any liquid. A bit of work to get it going, but I'd say it's worth it. I cooked on low for about 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Absolutely loved this stew and hubby raved and pronounced it a "10!". I stuck to the recipe with a few minor preparation tweeks. I added small, quartered redskin potatoes to the bottm of the crock, sauted the bacon to about half cooked, then just added the beef and browned with the bacon, tossed bacon and beef over potatoes, and added my carrot and onions. I used a 12 oz Guiness, and also added about a cup of beef broth. I cooked 3 hours high, 4 hours low. This stew was tender, flavorful, and delicious. A fun St. Patricks Day dinner with plenty of leftovers. Thanks for a great recipe! Additional comments: I've made this about 5 times since my review, I coat the beef with montreal seasoning, and use St. Peter's Cream Stout, has almost a sherry quality to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This was fantastic, my whole family loved it! Next time I will take it easy on the allspice, it was maybe a little too much. Made a Guinness chocolate cake for dessert - a perfect St. Patty's Day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
We made this for a St. Patricks day dinner. I don't usually like beef stews but this was AMAZING espically served with horse radish mashed potatoes. Here is what I changed: Used ZANTS instead of raisens (they are dried currents and are alot smaller than raisens). Added celery and did not use rutabegers or potatoes. Added the mashed potatoes to the soup when served. Rave reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I've gone thru quite a few Irish beef recipes now, with this being my first in the slow cooker. Can I just say "WOW!" - this was a fantastic recipe! Having gone thru so many now and recognizing our personal tastes, I did make a few adjustments right off the bat. I went overboard on the garlic (it was pre-minced), the rosemary and marjoram. Added a fair amount of dried thyme leaves (about 2-3 teaspoons worth), and went up to 1 1/2 teaspoons of allspice. Also cut up a large celery stalk, and added 4 decent sized yukon gold potatoes (skin left on) when I added everything else. Left it on high for 6 hours - and it was just bursting with flavor! With this recipe being so easy - it can't be beat :) A keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Linden, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
My husband told me this was the best thing he's ever tasted. I have never had a more delicious crock pot meal. The meat was tender and the sauce was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate19kid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States