Beer-Baked Irish Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
One of my husbands favorites! It will be a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My husband and I are trying to watch our intake of saturated fats, so I left out the bacon and added a few drops of liquid smoke. It doesn't *really* replace the bacon flavor, but at least we can still get that yummy smokiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Delicious stew! Made it for St. Patrick's with the Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread recipe from this site. I love anything in the slow cooker - the beer was tasty and the perfect seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was ok. It was a bit bland when I taste tested it so I added a bit of cayenne pepper to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I cooked this for the guys at the Fire Hall and they enjoyed it. As for some adjustments I used 1/2 of the beef stock to get the brownings and poured the beer along with the rest of the stock into the crock pot. The allspice was a bit much so I'll cut that back to a 1/2 to 3/4 tsp. I used 4 garlic cloves, a 3 bay leaves and 2 celery sticks. I used golden nugget potatoes on the bottom and they turned a little tart, next time I'll try Yukon Gold. A good tip from some reviewers. The sauce could be a little thicker but that's a personnel choice. All in all a good recipe to keep which I'll do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Cooked bacon with meat. Would add potatoes to make it more complete. Added the beer directly into slowcooker rather than cooking it in the skillet first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brossard, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very good recipe. I didn't think the allspice tasted odd at all, as a previous reviewer did. I substituted frozen pearl onions for the chopped onion. I also baked the stew in the oven for 4 hours at 250 degrees only because I was home for the day. I would make it in the crock pot if I was working or going to be out for the day. I'll have to remember this recipe for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Was the first time I made an Irish Stew, and it was excellent so easy to do............loved it......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
We enjoyed this thoroughly and the leftovers were even better the next day! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good. Husband LOVED the stew, esp'ly the beef flavor. Only added onions & carrots; next time will at least add potatoes, celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States