Beer-Baked Irish Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
My husband made this last night and it was delicious! He added a full 14 oz. can of Guinness & threw some potatoes in the crock pot with everything else. Cooked on low for about 7 hrs...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I thought it was pretty under seasoned. I added more garlic, Italian seasoning, and basically whatever else I had that looked good in my spice cabinet. The Guinness beer actually had a pretty bitter taste, so I added a can of Campbell's french onion soup. And lastly I added potatoes. I peeled and chopped 3 medium size yellow potatoes. After these additions, the stew was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Good, not great. sort of bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Followed the recipe to the letter and this turned out beyond delicious! I'll definitely be making this one again and again this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Looks like we're the only ones who didn't like this. We used Guiness Extra Stout and it didn't turn out at all. Maybe a milder beer? And less onions unless you're a huge fan of them. As is, it's like onion stew with an overpowering bitter beer base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynee`

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I don't usually change the recipes the 1st time I try them, but my crockpot is small. I mostly halved the recipe except I used just one onion, a couple handfuls of baby carrots, some extra garlic and Pearl Street Nut Brown (Wisconsin). Very good on top of some mashed potatoes with rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
amazing how it is! I made no changes and my husband loved it. Next time I make it i'm gonna have to "lighten" it up a bit, this is NOT an all the time kinda meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfraggle37

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I found this very fatty and I didn't really enjoy the flavour. Maybe if it was tweaked it would be better? If i make it again i will not use all the bacon drippings, half the amount of beer and instead try to make a gravy. THe texture of this is just liquid fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey_Pie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I love using the slow cooker although, obviously, I prefer fewer dishes. I may try and find a way to make this without browning everything first. Any suggestions? Or is the browning really necessary for the delicious-factor? Also thinking of doing liquid smoke instead of the bacon and vegan "crumbles" for the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Omnivore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
quite good. i did not add the allspice (it sounded weird), the marjoram (don't keep it around), and i used guiness "black lager". rather than try to squeeze cubed potatoes into my stockpot, i served the stew over mashed potatoes, which the family seemed to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States