Beefy Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Great soup. Additions: Strips of chuck roast(1 lb.) Browned in 1 tbsp olive oil, 8-10 mushrooms cut into chunks, 2 cloves of garlic, 1/2 lb of asparagus (break into 1 inch pieces), 2-3 turnips diced. Cook seashells separate and add when served. Thanks Lalena!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
I added about a cup of fresh mushrooms and substituted crushed tomatoes for the diced. I boiled whole wheat small shells separately so they wouldn't get mushy in the soup. As I did eliminate the potatoes (less carbs), I think I should have used less broth or, better still, added more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This is terrific! I added about 1/3 lb. beef strips and used 3/4 cup alphabet noodles as I have so many on hand. I think it would be a great base for Maryland crab soup, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This was an excellent soup! I added some seasoned and browned stew beef for an even more substanial soup. Very good on a cold and rainy evening! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
Good recipe! I added some stew beef for variety -used no salt added tomatoes and left the salt out from the recipe - the broth and tomato sauce give it plenty of salt. I also added some mushrooms and some chinese garlic spice! I will make this one again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
very good soup, I made a few adjustments to the amount of veggies, but original recipe is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
The soup was excellent, but next time I will leave out the pasta....gets too mushy. I'll prepare my pasta and then everyone can add however much pasta they want to their individual bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Excellent Soup! I added 10 drops of Tobasco to spice up the whole pot... also added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I put this in the crockpot for 1/2 a day on low and it turned out great. I added green beans and ground beef. I did brown the beef first, but because of the tomato sauce in the soup, it made the ground beef have almost a light pink tint. So, if you do add ground beef, make sure it's just the fam and no guests are coming over. ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This recipe was not only great tasting but easy to make! Perfect for these cool fall days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States