Beefy Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Yummy rice, Donna! I left out water, tomato sauce and ketchup, added 2- 14.5 ounce cans of mexican style stewed tomatoes. Excellent main dish material with green salad and garlic bread. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Really easy to make... but although I used an extra cup of water, the rice was still pretty undercooked... so I added a little bit more... So for every ONE cup of rice, you should definitely put in 2 - 2.5 cups of water. I also added some mushrooms, 2 large jalapeno peppers for a kick, and a few dashes of tobasco sauce. And instead of cooking it for 30 minutes, I let it simmer for about 45 minutes and let the sauce thicken by putting it aside, off the stove, for about another 5-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Quick and easy with minimal mess. My 9 year old didn't like it, but no reason why. It was very good. I didn't use catsup, my husband hates it, instead I used some salsa. I also added 3/4 cup more water, after reading other reviews, turned out perfect. also added fresh garlic, cumin, chili powder, 1 cup shredded Monteray Jack cheese, and 1/2 cup slices olives. I will make this again for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I added a can of diced tomatoes with some of the juice drained out, an entire can of corn (instead of one cup), ground cumin, chili powder, and replaced the pepper and onion with a bag of frozen peppers and onions...I made it to the point of throwing it all together and then put it all in a crock-pot on high for several hours until the rice was tender....tasted like a stuffed pepper casserole. YUM! Very easy to change ingredients to whatever you have on hand or like. Stayed VERY MOIST in the crock-pot. I can hardly wait until tomorrow since Donna L. says it is even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwbarker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luckey, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Wow - this gets five points for both ease (less than 15 minutes prep time) and taste (every member of my family liked it - a near miracle). I doctored it a bit. To make it healthier I used brown rice instead of white, ground chicken instead of beef, and a 28 oz. can of stewed tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce and ketchup. To make it more flavorful I sauteed two cloves of garlic with the onion, and added 1 tsp. each of cumin and chili powder. To make it easier, I sauteed the onion, garlic and chicken and then dumped them and the rest of the ingredients into a crock pot on high for four hours. It was absolutely perfect, the brown rice was so tender and I didn't have to worry about stirring and burning. The way to go with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
YUMMERS!!!! I followed one of the other reviews and got everything thrown together and then stuffed it in my crock pot. I added some mushrooms because my hubby and I are mushroom junkies, and it turned out very yummy!! not too sweet, but just right. I added some Tony Chacherie's spice powder to it and gave it a kick. I highly recommend this recipe. Thank you Donna!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Thanks Donna- both myself and my fiance loved having this as a change from our usual boring beef dishes. These are my variations: I used 1 1/2 cups rice, 2 1/2 cups water, 1/2 pound hamburger, 1 whole large onion, 1 cup salsa, 1 can diced tomato, 1 can tomato paste (in place of the tomato sauce), 1 Tablespoon crushed red peppers, some dried chili peppers and no salt. YUM! Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I made this with ketchup as listed and again with only 1/4 cup ketchup. It's definitely better with less ketchup. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This is a VERY GOOD recipe!!! I changed a few things though. I used 2 1/2 cups of V-8 juice to 1 cup rice and 1/2# ground beef. I added 1 can of stewed tomatoes with the juice (which replaced the tomato sauce) that I cut up and chili powder to taste. I also had to cook it longer than mentioned. This is a KEEPER!!! Thank you for the recipe =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
My husband loved it - I thought it was good. However, the rice seemed a bit undercooked to me, so I recommend adding more water. It also has a more tomato-y than spicy taste. Keep this in mind and adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States