Beefy Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This is a VERY GOOD recipe!!! I changed a few things though. I used 2 1/2 cups of V-8 juice to 1 cup rice and 1/2# ground beef. I added 1 can of stewed tomatoes with the juice (which replaced the tomato sauce) that I cut up and chili powder to taste. I also had to cook it longer than mentioned. This is a KEEPER!!! Thank you for the recipe =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Very good. I added a cup of v-8 juice(water or broth would have been fine) to help with the rice and seasonings to give it a spanish flavor(cumin, chili powder, cayanne, garlic) after all that it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
This is a great quick & easy meal I will keep making on days I have to work. Excellent way to use ground beef, corn and whatever else is in the house. I added canned diced tomatoes and only half the ketchup with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Thanks Donna- both myself and my fiance loved having this as a change from our usual boring beef dishes. These are my variations: I used 1 1/2 cups rice, 2 1/2 cups water, 1/2 pound hamburger, 1 whole large onion, 1 cup salsa, 1 can diced tomato, 1 can tomato paste (in place of the tomato sauce), 1 Tablespoon crushed red peppers, some dried chili peppers and no salt. YUM! Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Really easy to make... but although I used an extra cup of water, the rice was still pretty undercooked... so I added a little bit more... So for every ONE cup of rice, you should definitely put in 2 - 2.5 cups of water. I also added some mushrooms, 2 large jalapeno peppers for a kick, and a few dashes of tobasco sauce. And instead of cooking it for 30 minutes, I let it simmer for about 45 minutes and let the sauce thicken by putting it aside, off the stove, for about another 5-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
This is the best recipe I've found on this website or anywhere else. I made the recipe just as it was written, and my family loved it. The only thing they requested that I do different next time was add more rice. It was actually more meat than rice, so they had a point. I multiplied the rice by 1.5 the next time I made it, and they liked it better. I liked it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
My husband loved it - I thought it was good. However, the rice seemed a bit undercooked to me, so I recommend adding more water. It also has a more tomato-y than spicy taste. Keep this in mind and adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This was good. I made half a recipe, left the water out and just used a can of tomato sauce. I also added some garlic, sliced black olives and cheese. My 17 month old ate it up. I will definately make again some night when I didn't plan dinner out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
I must say, I love this recipe! I would recommend cooking the rice beforehand, but otherwise, I really enjoyed this meal. I actually try to avoid eating meat -- I came across this recipe on a search for things to do with canned corn of all things! -- so I substituted mushrooms for the meat and didnt need to cook it as long (the rice was precooked). i really just enjoy this meal. I even eat it cold! as a poor college student who's always on the run, i enjoy the fact that i can stuff it a tupperware thing and bring it with me for lunch or eat it cold as a midnight snack. Its very satisfying, even in my veggie version. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Quick and easy with minimal mess. My 9 year old didn't like it, but no reason why. It was very good. I didn't use catsup, my husband hates it, instead I used some salsa. I also added 3/4 cup more water, after reading other reviews, turned out perfect. also added fresh garlic, cumin, chili powder, 1 cup shredded Monteray Jack cheese, and 1/2 cup slices olives. I will make this again for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States