Beefy Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I followed recipe directions except, omitted water, and replaced it with an undrained can of diced tomatoes w/ chile peppers and one can of undrained black beans. Also, I did not drain my corn. There were no issues with water, it turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
We loved this meal. I too thought it was a littel bland, so I added worsteshire sauce and chili powder to taste. The rice cooked just fine in 1 cup water for me. My tomato sauce can was 8 oz, instead of 6. We also made Allrecipes Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
VERY BLAND!! I added kidney beans, extra tomato sauce and it was still very bland so I ended up with fresh galric, some chili powder and a bit of cumin. It is a nice basis but needs a lot of work for a flavorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
Not a real crowd pleaser at my house. I think everyone expected a little zip because of the name. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This recipe was so easy to make and everyone in the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This sounded a little bland, and the liquid amount didn't seem correct, so I made the following changes and it was excellent! I used olive rather than vegetable oil, and frozen rather than canned corn. Instead of the tomato sauce and ketchup, I used 2 cups V8 spicy hot juice and 1 cup water. I also used one minced clove of garlic, 1 tsp. cumin and 1/2 tsp chili powder. I simmered until all liquid had been absorbed. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I used success spanish rice, and as the rice was boiling. I browned the meat and added onion power to taste. The followed the direction on the box, and add to ground beef. Added one can of corn and one can of cut green beans to the meat. To this I added 3 tablespoons of Heinz 57 sauce to add a zing. My family loved it, and my family is picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Nice, easy one-pot dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Defiantly use 2 cups water, (1 cup uncooked rice - 2 cups water, always) I browned the hamburger and put it to the side. I then browned the rice, added the onion, bell pepper, 1 tablespoon minced garlic and sprinkled with cumin, salt and pepper. I then added in the water, tomato sauce, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 can corn and hamburger. I also added 1 jalapeno sliced. I stirred it all together and covered for 20-25 minutes. DO NOT OPEN THE LID until 20 minutes has elapsed, that way the rice can cook properly. I did not use ketchup, don’t care much for that sweet taste. A good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Will not even try to make changes to it, This one I will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States