Beefy Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
My family did not like this. Very bland. I suggest spicing it up a bit if you decide to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
It was wonderful, with the modifications recommended by others. I added a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with green chilis (perfect if you like things spicy), a couple of tbs of ketchup, ground cumin & ground coriander. I also used brown rice instead of white rice. It takes longer to cook though, probably at least another 30 minutes. It had excellent flavor and spice. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Thought it was a little bland for my palette. My Partner wasn’t a fan either. Might try again with a couple of changes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I liked it alot it was very simple and came togther pretty quick i added some cumin to mine though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Benton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This was the perfect Spanish Rice recipe for me, it was exactly what I was looking for. I used cus cus instead of rice to make it lower in fat, but should have cooked it seperately because it didn't soften completely. Also, I added a dash of ground cumin for some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This is a great recipe for summer. Fast, easy and keeps well for left overs. I was out of ketchup so I used a mild salsa and added extra onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I loved this dish! I substituted beef broth for the cup of water and sauted in roasted garlic olive oil. Big hit at our house...even the kids liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Waterford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I read a lot of the reviews before making this. I made some changes, with good results. I cut back the ketchup to a few tablespoons after reading that it made the dish too sweet. also, i added cilantro, ground cumin, ground coriander, and grill seasoning. i also used a can of diced tomatoes and omitted a good portion of the water since there was so much liquid. i will probably make this again, keeping these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
made this for dinner cause i had leftover white rice (added it in last). didn't have corn, but added half can of black beans and diced tomatoes with a bit of taco seasoning (mixed in while browning the meat). ate with salsa and sour cream on the side. overall an easy, quick, and satisfying meal, but not particularly memorable. (also omitted the ketchup after reading reviews)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Very good, but next time I might cut back on the amount of ketchup. It was a little too sweet. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States