Beefy Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I followed the recipe to a T. I would follow other reviewers suggestions. Maybe add picante sauce and delete the ketchup. I did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I don't know why, since I never even had rice at home as a child, but THIS is DEFINITELY comfort food! I've made it a few times and have varied it each time to suit the ingredients we have in the house. I've added 6 ounces tomato paste with extra water, diced tomatoes, left out the green pepper, added more water, left out the ketchup, etc., and it always turns out perfectly! Everyone eats it (hubby, 5dc: 11, 9, 7, 4, 2). One thing I do consistently is to start cooking the rice as soon as I begin browning the beef. After it's tender (15 minutes) I stir it in and serve. We've never had a problem with crunchy rice. Tonight we're having this with a nice big "make-your-own" salad bar, cornbread, and a fruit salad. I think we'll wear our PJs and eat it in front of a roaring fire--that's what you do with the truly good comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bagx8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I liked this, but when I make it again, I'll probably kick it up a little - maybe with some tabasco sauce or cayenne pepper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Excellent dish! Used one large tomato and extra cup of water instead of canned tomato sauce. CAn easily be wrapped in a flour tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I like to add about 1 teaspoon of chili powder and a good sprinkle of cumin. Once rice is done top with a generous amount of cheddar cheese. Cover skillet and let sit for 5-10 mins. I also don't like to use a full pound of meat, increase the amount of water, and omit the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I ommitted the corn, but other than that my family loved this recipe. Very easy to cook and with tortillas this is a one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Very good recipe and extremely easy to make. Great for a big family like mine! My kids loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I chose this to make for my son's Cultural Awareness Day (since we were assigned Spain). Changed the amounts to feed 40. This made two very large foil pans full. Due to some of the other suggestions, I added a can of Ro-tel and some cumin. Tasted great to us!!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janieneworleans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I thought this was good. I used less ketchup, no green pepper (didn't have any), a whole 10 oz. thawed container of frozen corn. Added 1 tsp of cumin seed (would have used ground cumin if I had it), chili powder, ground red pepper, 1 T worcestershire sauce, some leftover salsa, cooked the rice first and added after draining ground beef and onions, and mixed in some shredded cheddar cheese. Will probably end up putting in a tortilla for dinner... waiting on the bf to come home from work for the taste test. Oh yeah, it's definitely better the longer it sits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
As you can see from my name, I am not a great cook but this recipe did not go down at all well! I read the reviews beforehand and made a few changes but for the first time ever, I won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States