Beefy Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This dish had a decent flavor--similar to meatloaf--but my husband and I didn't think that the flavor was worth the amount of time it took to prepare. This is not a difficult recipe by any means, but it is a little time consuming. It takes a while to make the rice tender. In fact, if I had to make this recipe again (which I never will) I would cook the rice according to the package directions before adding it to the mixture. I think that would decrease the overall cooking time. This recipe was also very messy. For those of you who are planning on making it, use a VERY deep frying pan or a wok--otherwise your ingredients will be on the range instead of in the pan. Here's some strong advice: Make meatloaf instead. You will achieve a similar flavor with less mess and you won't be standing by the oven all night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Awesome One

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Pretty good but I added more garlic and other seasonings to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livimommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was pretty good! I made a few alterations...1) didn't use ketchup or water (chicken broth instead), 2) used cream corn (as I didn't have the regular stuff), 3) didn't have bell pepper so used a can of diced tomatoes, 4) substituted ground beef with ground turkey, 5) used minced garlic instead of powder, and 6) added dried oregano & basil. This recipe really has lots of flexibility depending on what you have in the cupboard! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I've had this recipe in my "recipe box" for a few years...we absolutely LOVE it!! To make it a bit more flavorful than the original recipe, I use a packet (about a cup) of yellow rice mix & season the beef with adobo seasoning-this makes a huge difference! Also make sure to use 1 1/2 cups of water to soften the rice. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This tasted pretty good, but it didn't have a lot of "spanish rice" flavor to it. Might make again, but will add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was pretty good. I used brown rice and it took a little longer to cook... I also used a can of diced tomato and no ketchup. I liked it on tortilla chips. My husband ate it, but didn't comment on it one way or another. I will probably make it again, just not very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
It was just okay. Next time I make it, I will add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
With changes made it was good. Use one packet of taco seasoning and replace the tomato sauce for canned tomatoes with green chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimindallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Following other reviewers suggestions I would definitely add more water and cook longer, cut down on the ketchup and add chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
We have a picky family. My husband is Puerto Rican and nothing is ever spicy enough for him. My 8-year-old is really picky, everything is either too salty, too spicy, too creamy, too gross... My 3-year-old thinks ketchup, ranch dressing, and cheese are main course meals. Well, this recipe blew them all away. My husband was commenting on how good it was 5 hours after dinner, my 8-year-old packed some for school lunch today, and my 3-year-old ate everything on his plate without any threats at all. I made only a few changes: 1 tbsp minced garlic 1/2 green bell pepper 1/4 onion 1 can of sweet corn 1 can of stewed tomatoes (14 oz) 2.5 cups of water to 1 cup of rice (per other reviewers) I added to taste: ketchup Tapatio sauce chili powder ground cumin salt pepper I served with shredded Mexican cheese and Tostitos. Awesome recipe! I threw in a lot of spices, I hope I can duplicate the results again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States