Beefy Potato Volcano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
We did not like this one bit! My kids wouldn't eat it, my hubby asked me not to make it again. I thought it was okay - I made it just as the recipe called and added garlic as others mentioned. It had flavor and wasn't bland, just wasn't that great - we were disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
My little girl thought this recipe sounded fun so we tried it together. It was cute making little "volcanos" out of the potatoes. And what a great cooking method for the potatoes! I don't know why I never tried that before, but I'll be doing that more often because they really came out great. My local grocery store only had 10 ounce cans of beef gravy, so I used 2 of those, and honestly it seemed like the perfect amount anyway. I did spice up this recipe a LOT and also cooked an onion and a clove of minced garlic with the ground beef. Otherwise I don't think it would have had much flavor. This is a good recipe to whip up with just pantry staples. Definitely try to get the low salt or no salt added canned veggies and then salt to your taste. We'll be having this again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe using ground turkey and made a couple of changes. I used fresh cut carrots and like another cook, I made my own gravy (a 3 cup roux base with organic beef Better than Bouillon). I thought the recipe was bland and needed something more. I think with my leftovers, I plan to make soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Love the baking technique...works great! I didn't have any gravy so I attempted my own by making a roux and then adding chicken stock and herbs. Canned cream of chicken soup would probably be good, too, instead of gravy. Also didn't have tomatos but did have bell pepper and spinach. This recipe really lends itself to using whatever veggies you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Love the concept of this recipe. Healthy and fun for kids. I agree with the review that it would lack flavor if followed exactly so I doctored it up with fresh garlic, onion powder, and a lot more dried Italian seasonings including marjoram and basil, salt and pepper. The turkey gravy I purchased was the store brand in a can and it was not too loaded with chemicals or fat. I didn't drain the tomatoes so it had a nice sauce with it. I also used fresh baby carrots chopped and frozen peas and green beans. I feel these are healthier than canned. We sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on top. I think this is a great base recipe to adapt with fresh yellow squash, broccoli, spinach and/or zucchini. You will have to start browning the meat sooner to allow for the longer cook time of the vegetables. I think it is worth using fresh if possible. I greatly appreciate the tip on cooking the potatoes. What a HUGE time saver and they came out perfect. I will use that tip again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamafli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
great and easy to make.... my kids and husband love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it was completely flavorless. The only thing I could taste was the individual flavor of the peas/carrots. Not sure what it needed, but adding some shredded cheese on top helped, but killed the healthiness of it. Any ideas what to do with all the leftovers???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is sooooooo good. I browned the meat with lots of onions, spices (use whatever ones you enjoy), and some barbecue sauce for added kick. Threw it in the crockpot with a can of mixed veggies, some tomato sauce (i was out of diced tomatoes) and a can of turkey gravy because that's all I had. I let that cook on low for a couple hours so the flavors could all combine and I did the baked potatoes in the oven. Such a hearty and satisyfing easy, cheap meal. Will definetly be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielleB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I had to make some changes based on what was in the pantry but it was a very satisfying meal. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Really tasty and fun! I put a little bit of olive oil on the potato skins before putting them in the oven and they came out nice and crispy. I also used fresh baby carrots and broccoli instead of canned vegetables and shredded cheddar cheese over the top. If you do this with kids (or kids-at-heart like my husband) you can pretend the broccoli are trees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rinard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States