Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This came out excellent. I ended up making it twice in one week. I followed some of the other's suggestions. I doubled the barley, used 4 cans of beef broth and one can of chicken broth (no bouillon), and added a third cup of wine towards the end as well - it was delicious! I tried it once with fresh thyme from the garden (added it towards the end) and that added a nice flavor to it. If you double the barley, add more liquid, else the barley will soak up all the soup and you will have stew. I tried it once with regular mushrooms and once with half fresh shitake mushrooms. The shitakes gave it a little better flavor in everyone's opinion, but it was great both ways. I tried it once with small meatballs (Italian wedding soup style) since I didn't have a beef roast in the house. This was terrible. Definitley stick with a decent shoulder or other roast cut into small cubes. This soup is best the second day so make plenty extra. Serve with a good crusty french loaf toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Wonderful! Just wonderful! I made some changes to fit our family's tastes. I used 8 oz. of London broil and only 8 oz. of mushrooms. I used 3/4 c. barley which required 1-2 c. more water. You might want to add another bouillon cube. After I browned the beef, I added 6 cups of water and 1/2 c. red wine (a must for a full-bodied beef soup) and simmered it for an hour while I prepared the vegetables and sauteed them. Then I added the barley to the beef broth along with 4 c. of water and simmered until the barley was tender. I added the vegetables right at the end and heated through. I, too, forgot the sour cream. But it was so yummy, we didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Delicious, but I did make adjustments. First, I simmered the beef in 1/2 water, 1/2 red wine. I let it simmer longer than just while I was chopping the vegetables. I used about 6 cups of beef broth and 2 cups of water, and added 1/2 tsp thyme, 1/2 tsp basil and 2 bay leaves to the soup. I let the soup simmer for about an hour with the beef, seasonings, onions, garlic. I didn't saute the mushrooms and carrots with the onions an garlic, instead I threw them in later with the barley (after simmering soup for about an hour). I doubled the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I changed this recipe a bit but it turned out awesome so i am giving it 5 stars. First, i used better then bouillon instead of cubes because i think it has more depth of flavor then the cubes. I also used 1 cup of pearl barley so my soup was thick and i didnt use the sour cream because i didnt think it needed it. I served this with home made baking powder biscuits from this site as well- YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was a great starting point...and one with so many wonderful suggestions that helped create a truly 5 star soup.....using suggestions from earlier reviews, I used about 1/4 cup of flour, with freshly cracked pepper, a pinch of dried thyme and a pinch of rosemary to season the meat before browning in olive oil. Then simmered the beef with 2 cups of beef stock, 2 cups of chicken stock (the magic ingredient, in my mind) and 1 cup of Merlot (or any decent red wine). (Use low sodium brands if possible). I also add a few spoonfuls (maybe 1tblsp total) of "Better than Bouillion" for the concentrated beef taste and a splash of worchestershire sauce...... Simmered for a least 2 hours or until the beef was nice and tender. Sauted the veggies in some olive oil.....added an extra carrot, a parsnip, used fresh baby portabella's that were diced instead of sliced.....and added to the soup pot along with a full cup of barley and another cup each of merlot and beef broth ..Cooked for another 70 - 80 minutes or so. As the barley cooked, I adjusted the amount of liquid as needed (adding your choice of beef broth/stock; water and demi-glace or a product like "better than bouillion" or wine. Forgot all about the sour cream....I'll try adding that when I have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Incredibly delicious soup. I recommend doubling this recipe...you'll be sorry if you don't. I let the soup simmer for a good 2 hours before adding a full cup of barley and absolutely do not omit the sour cream. Excellent...just excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Awesome! Added the bay leaf and extra barley with extra water. Cooked the meat with the oil and added a cup of Merlot as it simmered. Simmered it a good long time to make it tender. When I added the meat with the veggies I added more Merlot. Used all the veggies called for plus parsnips...my personal favorite. Used what I had on hand...3lbs of stew meat, so I adjusted the recipe for the extra meat. Don't forget the sour cream at the end..I did. But added it to the last few bites and I have to say, I liked it better with the sour cream. So did the rest of the family. But, it was good either way. The writer that mentioned not to put the drippings in with the veggies was right. Added flavor but had to skim lots of oil off the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This would also make a good Vegetarian Mushroom soup just omit the beef. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Good! I used chicken instead of beef and doubled the barley. I would definately recommend either doubling the barley or reducing the broth. Nice, earthy flavour though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This soup is so yummy! perfect for a rainy day served with bisquits or rolls I used sirloin steak and a little extra barley- the sour cream is a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States