Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2001
The soup was delicious very thick and creamy. I didn't add the sour cream the soup was so rich on its own. My husband said it's the best soup that he's had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon steinman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This soup is so yummy! perfect for a rainy day served with bisquits or rolls I used sirloin steak and a little extra barley- the sour cream is a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
This is a great beef mushroom barley soup. I even left out the sour cream completely, and it was still hearty, nutritious, and delicious. I will make it again and again for those cold nights. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Even better with shitake mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Maybe it was my fault, because I made some changes, but this didn't turn out as well as I had hoped. It was very good, but not anything like what I'd expected. I omitted the beef altogether, and used double the beef base. I also omitted the sour cream, opting for cornstarch to thicken it some. The next time I make it, I will triple the barley, because there wasn't nearly enough for this barley lover. I will also add more veggies, perhaps some potatoes? But I will definately make it again. It was good, all in all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Incredibly delicious soup. I recommend doubling this recipe...you'll be sorry if you don't. I let the soup simmer for a good 2 hours before adding a full cup of barley and absolutely do not omit the sour cream. Excellent...just excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
very good recipe! i added about a cup of sour cream at the very end it gave it a beef strogonof flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I thought this soup was wonderful. I used about a cup of the quick cooking barley and 4 cans of beef broth. At the end I had forgotten about the sour cream, but was so good that I didn't miss it. I will be making this again soon and with the sour cream. It was a big hit with my "meat and potatoes" man. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Wonderful! Just wonderful! I made some changes to fit our family's tastes. I used 8 oz. of London broil and only 8 oz. of mushrooms. I used 3/4 c. barley which required 1-2 c. more water. You might want to add another bouillon cube. After I browned the beef, I added 6 cups of water and 1/2 c. red wine (a must for a full-bodied beef soup) and simmered it for an hour while I prepared the vegetables and sauteed them. Then I added the barley to the beef broth along with 4 c. of water and simmered until the barley was tender. I added the vegetables right at the end and heated through. I, too, forgot the sour cream. But it was so yummy, we didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Hi there! I thought this was pretty good! I followed another reviewer's advice and poured in half a cup of red wine. Also, I decided to make the soup with egg noodles instead of barley because I made a soup with barley a few days ago and several people in the reviews here said this soup tasted a lot like beef stroganoff. I also replaced the carrots with broccoli. I'd recommend this because it gives the brown soup very pretty bright green color and tastes great! And I used a full cup of sour cream since I used so much more liquid. I had to use a LOT more water than the recipe said, and wasn't sure if I should add the water the beef was cooking in to the soup, so I just added a little bit and boy was I glad I didn't pour it all into the soup! It would have been like an oil slick on top!! Last of all, the soup had good flavor, but didn't seem very "deep". It seemed like it would have been good if it were a little thick, so next time I'll try cooking it with a roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States