Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
actually i would have given it 4 1/2 stars i didn't care for the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I changed this recipe a bit but it turned out awesome so i am giving it 5 stars. First, i used better then bouillon instead of cubes because i think it has more depth of flavor then the cubes. I also used 1 cup of pearl barley so my soup was thick and i didnt use the sour cream because i didnt think it needed it. I served this with home made baking powder biscuits from this site as well- YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This was good, but not remarkable. I used a turkey roast, doubled the barley, omitted the sour cream, and cut down on the water a bit to make a thicker soup. However, I found it a tad greasy, and it relied too heavily on the bullion cubes for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Fabulous!!! Only thing I added was a large bay leaf. Not fond of the sour cream either but it's optional. This is the second time I've made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
my family and i enjoyed this (including my 7 year old who usually says she doesn't like beef). the sour cream is definitely important, even though i'm sure it would still be good without it. i think it gives it more body and smooths out the flavor. it was really easy to make, too. i'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Delicious, but I did make adjustments. First, I simmered the beef in 1/2 water, 1/2 red wine. I let it simmer longer than just while I was chopping the vegetables. I used about 6 cups of beef broth and 2 cups of water, and added 1/2 tsp thyme, 1/2 tsp basil and 2 bay leaves to the soup. I let the soup simmer for about an hour with the beef, seasonings, onions, garlic. I didn't saute the mushrooms and carrots with the onions an garlic, instead I threw them in later with the barley (after simmering soup for about an hour). I doubled the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This would also make a good Vegetarian Mushroom soup just omit the beef. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
I will definitely be making this again. It does need a few more boullion cubes though, not quite enough flavor. Also more barley for sure. A very good soup on a rainy day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Good! I used chicken instead of beef and doubled the barley. I would definately recommend either doubling the barley or reducing the broth. Nice, earthy flavour though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States