Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This is one of the best soups I have ever had. I changed it a little by using 4 cups of beef broth and 2 cups of water in replace of the 6 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This has a fantastic flavor, but way too many mushrooms for our taste. I will make it again, but will only use about 4 oz. of mushrooms next time (instead of the 16 oz. the recipe calls for) and increase the amount of carrot and celery. In addition, I doubled the amount of beef bouillion, as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was not good at all. It needs a more lean meat than stew meat, as you don't want beef fat in your soup. The directions do not specify how long to cook the soup - 'until th barley is tender' is about 10-15 min and that is not enough to cook the vegetables and mushrooms through and blend the flavors. My old recipe with cream of mushroom soup is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This soup was wonderful! I did make a few changes - I used a chuck underblade roast, seasoned it and browned it in some oil. Then I put it in the crock pot with a beef bullion cube and 2 cups of water. I let it cook all day. When it was done, I took it out and shredded the meat. I put all the liguid from the crock pot into the soup pot with all the other ingredients, it gave it a great flavor. The only thing I did not do was add the sour cream (which was actually an oversite..I was rushing and forgot it) but I actually think we liked it better without it. My husband asked for seconds amd leftovers the next day! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Very good winter soup. One question though...How can you make a beef soup vegetarian by using vegetable broth? The beef will still be there..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Its a hit! Served with garlic french bread. Doubled the barley and added 1 cup more water. Next time rather than use the food processor I will chop the onions and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Loved this recipe. I left out the sour cream because I didn't see the need for it and it was a hit. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is a great barley soup recipe.. I used a box of liquid onion soup in place of the boullon cube's. Lots of sherry wine and fresh parsley. I put in one cup of barley and an extra cup of beef broth. I did as one person said,I doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
really good but cut back on the celery use two ribs not two stalks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Delicious! I cut down the water by about a cup. Doubled the buillon & barley, added 2 bay leaves, seasoned with tarragon, corriander, seasoning salt and lots of pepper. I also had a left-over baked potato which I cut up and tossed in as well, skin and all. Loved it. Next time I'll add more beef as well. I like this closer to a stew than a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States