Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Oh boy, I was REALLY pulling for this soup and it was delicious but there are a few things I would change. I did simmer the beef in half water half red wine, but it was still too tough, I think it would make more sense to make this in the crockpot to help tenderize the meat. Also, sauteing the veggies in butter made the finished product fairly greasy (even after I drained the beef), so I would use olive oil next time, although again...using the crockpot would eliminate the need for a sauteing agent. I also added some thyme and parsley for flavor. And I doubled the barley and it still wasn't the main player I thought it would be, so i thought about increasing it next time. Now, after I thought about all these changes I would make next time, I essentially realized that I would practically be making an exact copy of my beef stew recipe. i was hoping for a new recipe but this one is very similar. But it's so good I think I will hold onto it anyway. now I will say, it is very tasty, and if you choose to make this soup instead of beef stew, don't leave out the sour cream. It did nothing but add depth and flavor! and use a full cup of barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I thought this was a nice soup but didn't feel like the seasoning stood out very much. I made this a day ahead and ate it the following day (allowing the flavors to meld) but it still didn't have an amazing quality about it. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Great soup! I like to cut up sirloin strips in to cubes, lightly flour w/ salt & pepper before browning. I also like to add some corn starch to thicken it up a bit. Yum - even better the next day. It freezes well too. 5 stars for anything healthy that my 8 year old son will eat. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Loved it! I've made this several times, using beef shank, browned and simmered til tender. I also added wine when simmering the beef, and increased the barley & broth, but no substantial changes necessary to this awesome soup. I'll be making it all winter, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was a winner. It was delicious, healthy and filling. Also easy to make. I also added a splash of red wine which I think really added to the flavour of the broth. Even without the wine, I think this would have been great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I used my crock pot for this soup which I felt melded the flavors together better, and the beef was very tender and not chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Librarian from Colorado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This is a great recipe and can be adjusted in so many ways. I floured the beef cubes and browned them, then cooked them in a crock pot for a couple hrs. before adding the rest of the ingredients. I used a full cup of barley as suggested and beef broth instead of water. I had some leftover canned corn and threw that in as well and it turned out super !! It was thicker like a stew which was hearty and yummy ! I omitted the sour cream - didn't need the added calories !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
fabulous we loved this has great flavor, one draw back and there is not enough barley in it. I put a 1/3 cup in and it not enough next time I will try a cup of barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made this last night and with a few tweaks, it was great! I used 2 pounds of trimmed sirloin, cubed and coated it with corn starch. I heated a bit of oil in a pan and then added the meat. After it was a bit browned, I slowly added in 7 cups of beef broth (Progresso), which thickened using the corn starch, and let it cook for an hour with a bit of thyme, garlic powder, ground black pepper and a hint of salt. Then I threw in one pound of baby carrots, three stalks of celery, half an onion and a pound of mushrooms (all sliced and/or diced) with 3/4 cup of barley. With the last cup of broth, I added a bit more corn starch to make a slurry, turned up the heat, and it really made it nice and thick. I topped it with a bit of sour cream and we didn't think it added anything, so I don't think it's necessary. Mmmmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Very good! With just a few changes, this is a keeper! Instead of bouillon and water, I used beef broth and chicken broth (as suggested by another reviewer). We prefer a leaner cut of meat, so used round steak cut into cubes. I added more barley and sauted it with the veggies. The sour cream is definately a good touch. This will be an excellent crockpot recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States