Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
great flavors in this one!!!! I would like to try cooking the beef in a little red wine though too to make it even richer - I halved the mushrooms - my family isn't that big on them - but it was really tasty. It also purees down well so my 1 year old enjoyed it the most I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This soup had an EXCELLENT flavor. The only thing I would change is to add more barley, more carrots and more sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WisconsinMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
it was good except i added 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce, pinch of black pepper. I only added 2 tsps of beef bouillon, and it wasn't salty enough. 3 tsps beef bouillon or substitute 1 tsp onion salt instead shouldn't hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Delicious!! I used 2 cups beef broth & 6 cups home made veg. broth. I dusted the beef with corn starch & sauteed that with evo & butter. [butter doesn't burn when sauteed with evo], onions, 2 bay leaves & a pinch of red pepper flakes. Added 1Tblsp Italian seasoning, 3/4 cup merlot wine & veggies & 3/4 cup barley. Not the mushrooms. I sauteed them in butter & added to soup at the end. After tasting I added a few splashes of worcestershire sauce & 1 tsp "Beef better than bullion." This can be found at your local grocery store. It's a little pricey but a little bit goes a long way. I wasn't that happy with the soup. Sent a bowl to my daughter & put the rest in the fridge. After 24 hours in the fridge it was just great. Very earthy flavor. Daughter want's to know when I'm making again. Tip: Many times I have spices that are very old. I've found that if you measure the spice needed & put it in the microwave for 5 to 10 seconds it brings it back to life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Excellent soup! It was a cool spring day and with my homemade biscuits, this homemade soup hit the spot. I used some broth that I saved from a recent pot roast and added some wine and lots of spices-- yum is all I can say-- you can do what you want with this recipe and still have a great soup. Why buy that canned stuff?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Excellent soup with delicious broth! I added 1/4 cup sherry into 6 cups beef broth (instead of bouillon) and it was great! No need for the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Everyone loved it. Next time will make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I doubled this recipe and I'm glad that I did! My family loved it. It was my first time using barley and I'm glad I gave it a try. It was hearty and had great flavor. Thanks for the great recipe, I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This soup was AMAZING! I followed the recipe pretty closely except for adding 1 cup barley and using the liquid I boiled the meat in plus 1 cup chicken broth for extra liquid. I figure I'll scoop the grease off the top after I refrigerate the soup for a night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal907

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drella
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This soup was so delicious and so easy. I made a few changes to the recipe. Before I browned the meat I sprinkled it with paprika, montreal seasoning and salt and pepper. After I browned the beef cubes in oil I simmered it for about an hour in a cup of water and a 1/2 cup of red wine (I used cab. sav). I sauteed all the veggies in butter,except the mushrooms which I added after the broth, then added the meat, three cans of beef broth (about 6 cups) and barley. I doubled the amount of barley which I pre-soaked in a half cup of water. I also added another half cup of wine along with sea salt, pepper, paprika, dried oregano and basil. The soup had so much flavor, I think the wine was the key ingredient. I added the sour cream in the first bowl and once I stirred it in it had a really unappetizing look, I skipped it in the second bowl and thought it was better without it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States