Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I used homemade beef broth instead of bouillon cubes. The soup was excellent. Thanks Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
My family devoured this..just gone. I will definitly have to make a double batch next time around. I took the suggestion of someone else and added 1 can beef broth. and I ommitted the garlic(our taste). thanks for such a great recipe, everyone should try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This soup was very good. I did change it a little bit. I had no celery and added a chopped tomato while cooking. I coated the beef in flour seasoned with salt and pepper, browned it then simmered it in 2 cups of water for an hour before adding the rest of the ingredients. I also added a bottle of beer instead of a little bit of broth. I cooked it for another hour with all ingredients until the barley was soft and beef very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
great flavors in this one!!!! I would like to try cooking the beef in a little red wine though too to make it even richer - I halved the mushrooms - my family isn't that big on them - but it was really tasty. It also purees down well so my 1 year old enjoyed it the most I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This soup had an EXCELLENT flavor. The only thing I would change is to add more barley, more carrots and more sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WisconsinMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
it was good except i added 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce, pinch of black pepper. I only added 2 tsps of beef bouillon, and it wasn't salty enough. 3 tsps beef bouillon or substitute 1 tsp onion salt instead shouldn't hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Delicious!! I used 2 cups beef broth & 6 cups home made veg. broth. I dusted the beef with corn starch & sauteed that with evo & butter. [butter doesn't burn when sauteed with evo], onions, 2 bay leaves & a pinch of red pepper flakes. Added 1Tblsp Italian seasoning, 3/4 cup merlot wine & veggies & 3/4 cup barley. Not the mushrooms. I sauteed them in butter & added to soup at the end. After tasting I added a few splashes of worcestershire sauce & 1 tsp "Beef better than bullion." This can be found at your local grocery store. It's a little pricey but a little bit goes a long way. I wasn't that happy with the soup. Sent a bowl to my daughter & put the rest in the fridge. After 24 hours in the fridge it was just great. Very earthy flavor. Daughter want's to know when I'm making again. Tip: Many times I have spices that are very old. I've found that if you measure the spice needed & put it in the microwave for 5 to 10 seconds it brings it back to life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Excellent soup! It was a cool spring day and with my homemade biscuits, this homemade soup hit the spot. I used some broth that I saved from a recent pot roast and added some wine and lots of spices-- yum is all I can say-- you can do what you want with this recipe and still have a great soup. Why buy that canned stuff?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Excellent soup with delicious broth! I added 1/4 cup sherry into 6 cups beef broth (instead of bouillon) and it was great! No need for the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Everyone loved it. Next time will make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States