Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
We like meaty soups, so I added about 1.5 lbs of cubed meat, didn't brown the meat nor did I add any butter. Like most others, I used 4 cups of low sodium beef stock and about 3.5 cups of beef broth I'd cooked a roast in earlier in the week. I added a touch more mushrooms as well as 3X barley (because we love it and I wanted to stretch the soup). Use a quality beef stock as a lot of the flavor is derived from it. Fantastic flavor without the sour cream and with it, it almost tasted like another soup. We added just a tablespoon or so to individual servings. Will definitely make again but will add more mushrooms and carrots. Thanks for an easy, fantastic soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Our family enjoyed this recipe, though I did add a significant amount of herbs to give the soup more flavor, so I am giving 4 stars for a great starting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
like the other posters...me one change was to "add booze". Others added red wine or beer which would be good too...though I added sherry. Also: the broth lacked enough flavor at first. It calls for 3 bullion cubes to 6 c of water which = half strength beef broth. I added another 3 bullion cubes to = regular strength broth and we liked it a lot better. Liked the end product but a 4 as I had to make changes to boost flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I had some oyster, shittake, and baby portabellas in the fridge, along with a zucchini from the garden. I thought this recipe would provide a good vehicle for their use, and did it ever. Being vegetarian I left out the beef and used a vegetable broth. After sweating the veggies I deglazed the pan with some sherry. I cooked the broth separately for the 1st 1/2 hour as I added some black and mahogany rice (1/4 cup), and that takes 50 minutes to cook. I added a bouquet garni of sprigs of fresh herbs, fished it out when I added the mushroom mixture, and finished cooking it. My family all loved it, and want to know when we are going to have it again. My husband said it was "rich", but it is so healthy and low cal! His only request is that next time he wants to try it with croutons and Swiss cheese, like French onion soup. Thank you so much for sharing such a easy and delectable soup! We have a "soup dinner" for family every fall, and this is going on the menu! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weather Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelsea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Fantastic. Didn't have any bouillon so I used beef broth instead. Turned out very flavorful without being too heavy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Too many mushrooms for me. Maybe I would have liked it if I had used half the mushrooms and twice the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The best soup I have ever made! I added more meat, and browned it first, and then cooked the beef with 1/2 c red wine and 1 1/2 c water for an hour, and then added my sauteed veggies and just one box of beef broth, and I doubled the barley to 1/2 c. That wes it, and the results were delish! I didn't use the sour cream either. This was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
It's a fine soup; however, it seemed that a lb of mushrooms was far too overpowering. It was more of a mushroom soup than a beef and barley soup. It will also need more spices than what was listed. I added in a half cup of red wine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Easy, easy, easy, yet very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindeeandgordon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was good. It just seemed a little thin like it was missing something. I forgot I was out of sour cream so maybe that would have helped. On the advice of my butcher I used a small chuck roast that I cut into small pieces and the meat was tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States