Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Fantastic. Didn't have any bouillon so I used beef broth instead. Turned out very flavorful without being too heavy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Too many mushrooms for me. Maybe I would have liked it if I had used half the mushrooms and twice the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The best soup I have ever made! I added more meat, and browned it first, and then cooked the beef with 1/2 c red wine and 1 1/2 c water for an hour, and then added my sauteed veggies and just one box of beef broth, and I doubled the barley to 1/2 c. That wes it, and the results were delish! I didn't use the sour cream either. This was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
It's a fine soup; however, it seemed that a lb of mushrooms was far too overpowering. It was more of a mushroom soup than a beef and barley soup. It will also need more spices than what was listed. I added in a half cup of red wine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Easy, easy, easy, yet very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindeeandgordon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was good. It just seemed a little thin like it was missing something. I forgot I was out of sour cream so maybe that would have helped. On the advice of my butcher I used a small chuck roast that I cut into small pieces and the meat was tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
flavour, but my stewing beef was tough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I used homemade beef broth instead of bouillon cubes. The soup was excellent. Thanks Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
My family devoured this..just gone. I will definitly have to make a double batch next time around. I took the suggestion of someone else and added 1 can beef broth. and I ommitted the garlic(our taste). thanks for such a great recipe, everyone should try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This soup was very good. I did change it a little bit. I had no celery and added a chopped tomato while cooking. I coated the beef in flour seasoned with salt and pepper, browned it then simmered it in 2 cups of water for an hour before adding the rest of the ingredients. I also added a bottle of beer instead of a little bit of broth. I cooked it for another hour with all ingredients until the barley was soft and beef very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States