Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Fantastic. Didn't have any bouillon so I used beef broth instead. Turned out very flavorful without being too heavy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Too many mushrooms for me. Maybe I would have liked it if I had used half the mushrooms and twice the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The best soup I have ever made! I added more meat, and browned it first, and then cooked the beef with 1/2 c red wine and 1 1/2 c water for an hour, and then added my sauteed veggies and just one box of beef broth, and I doubled the barley to 1/2 c. That wes it, and the results were delish! I didn't use the sour cream either. This was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
It's a fine soup; however, it seemed that a lb of mushrooms was far too overpowering. It was more of a mushroom soup than a beef and barley soup. It will also need more spices than what was listed. I added in a half cup of red wine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Easy, easy, easy, yet very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindeeandgordon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was good. It just seemed a little thin like it was missing something. I forgot I was out of sour cream so maybe that would have helped. On the advice of my butcher I used a small chuck roast that I cut into small pieces and the meat was tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
flavour, but my stewing beef was tough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I used homemade beef broth instead of bouillon cubes. The soup was excellent. Thanks Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
My family devoured this..just gone. I will definitly have to make a double batch next time around. I took the suggestion of someone else and added 1 can beef broth. and I ommitted the garlic(our taste). thanks for such a great recipe, everyone should try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This soup was very good. I did change it a little bit. I had no celery and added a chopped tomato while cooking. I coated the beef in flour seasoned with salt and pepper, browned it then simmered it in 2 cups of water for an hour before adding the rest of the ingredients. I also added a bottle of beer instead of a little bit of broth. I cooked it for another hour with all ingredients until the barley was soft and beef very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States