Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I thought this soup was wonderful. I used about a cup of the quick cooking barley and 4 cans of beef broth. At the end I had forgotten about the sour cream, but was so good that I didn't miss it. I will be making this again soon and with the sour cream. It was a big hit with my "meat and potatoes" man. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
very good recipe! i added about a cup of sour cream at the very end it gave it a beef strogonof flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Incredibly delicious soup. I recommend doubling this recipe...you'll be sorry if you don't. I let the soup simmer for a good 2 hours before adding a full cup of barley and absolutely do not omit the sour cream. Excellent...just excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Maybe it was my fault, because I made some changes, but this didn't turn out as well as I had hoped. It was very good, but not anything like what I'd expected. I omitted the beef altogether, and used double the beef base. I also omitted the sour cream, opting for cornstarch to thicken it some. The next time I make it, I will triple the barley, because there wasn't nearly enough for this barley lover. I will also add more veggies, perhaps some potatoes? But I will definately make it again. It was good, all in all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Even better with shitake mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
This is a great beef mushroom barley soup. I even left out the sour cream completely, and it was still hearty, nutritious, and delicious. I will make it again and again for those cold nights. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This soup is so yummy! perfect for a rainy day served with bisquits or rolls I used sirloin steak and a little extra barley- the sour cream is a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
The soup was delicious very thick and creamy. I didn't add the sour cream the soup was so rich on its own. My husband said it's the best soup that he's had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-98 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States