Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I thought this soup was wonderful. I used about a cup of the quick cooking barley and 4 cans of beef broth. At the end I had forgotten about the sour cream, but was so good that I didn't miss it. I will be making this again soon and with the sour cream. It was a big hit with my "meat and potatoes" man. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
very good recipe! i added about a cup of sour cream at the very end it gave it a beef strogonof flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Incredibly delicious soup. I recommend doubling this recipe...you'll be sorry if you don't. I let the soup simmer for a good 2 hours before adding a full cup of barley and absolutely do not omit the sour cream. Excellent...just excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Maybe it was my fault, because I made some changes, but this didn't turn out as well as I had hoped. It was very good, but not anything like what I'd expected. I omitted the beef altogether, and used double the beef base. I also omitted the sour cream, opting for cornstarch to thicken it some. The next time I make it, I will triple the barley, because there wasn't nearly enough for this barley lover. I will also add more veggies, perhaps some potatoes? But I will definately make it again. It was good, all in all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Even better with shitake mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
This is a great beef mushroom barley soup. I even left out the sour cream completely, and it was still hearty, nutritious, and delicious. I will make it again and again for those cold nights. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This soup is so yummy! perfect for a rainy day served with bisquits or rolls I used sirloin steak and a little extra barley- the sour cream is a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
The soup was delicious very thick and creamy. I didn't add the sour cream the soup was so rich on its own. My husband said it's the best soup that he's had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-98 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States