Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I have never just simmered stew beef for only one hour and since there was no time listed for simmering while the veggies were prepared and sautéed, I just did one hour. After the veggies were added I simmered it for another hour and half. It was very tasty, but extremely watery. I later added the same amount of barley, and it was still too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Photo by Linda Meek
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I added a little fresh ground pepper and sea salt, plus one extra beef bouillon cube, and a soup bone. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Meek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Ultimate comfort food. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Good, hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is an incredibly delicious soup! 1/4 cup of barley is definitely not enough. I ended up using 1 and 1/2 cups and it was perfect for us. We will be adding this to our regular rotation this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is an awesome recipe! I increased the barley to 1/2 cup. I added zuchini as another veggie. I also added a cup of merlot while the soup cooked. The soup is light and tasty. Try it! - Grannisymth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I thought this was very good. I followed the recipe and was very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Lehr

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
It was just ok. Not much flavor until I doctored it up with some herbs and extra bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Carter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
We like meaty soups, so I added about 1.5 lbs of cubed meat, didn't brown the meat nor did I add any butter. Like most others, I used 4 cups of low sodium beef stock and about 3.5 cups of beef broth I'd cooked a roast in earlier in the week. I added a touch more mushrooms as well as 3X barley (because we love it and I wanted to stretch the soup). Use a quality beef stock as a lot of the flavor is derived from it. Fantastic flavor without the sour cream and with it, it almost tasted like another soup. We added just a tablespoon or so to individual servings. Will definitely make again but will add more mushrooms and carrots. Thanks for an easy, fantastic soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Our family enjoyed this recipe, though I did add a significant amount of herbs to give the soup more flavor, so I am giving 4 stars for a great starting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States