Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I have never just simmered stew beef for only one hour and since there was no time listed for simmering while the veggies were prepared and sautéed, I just did one hour. After the veggies were added I simmered it for another hour and half. It was very tasty, but extremely watery. I later added the same amount of barley, and it was still too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Photo by Linda Meek
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I added a little fresh ground pepper and sea salt, plus one extra beef bouillon cube, and a soup bone. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Meek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Ultimate comfort food. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Good, hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is an incredibly delicious soup! 1/4 cup of barley is definitely not enough. I ended up using 1 and 1/2 cups and it was perfect for us. We will be adding this to our regular rotation this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is an awesome recipe! I increased the barley to 1/2 cup. I added zuchini as another veggie. I also added a cup of merlot while the soup cooked. The soup is light and tasty. Try it! - Grannisymth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I thought this was very good. I followed the recipe and was very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Lehr

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
It was just ok. Not much flavor until I doctored it up with some herbs and extra bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Carter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
We like meaty soups, so I added about 1.5 lbs of cubed meat, didn't brown the meat nor did I add any butter. Like most others, I used 4 cups of low sodium beef stock and about 3.5 cups of beef broth I'd cooked a roast in earlier in the week. I added a touch more mushrooms as well as 3X barley (because we love it and I wanted to stretch the soup). Use a quality beef stock as a lot of the flavor is derived from it. Fantastic flavor without the sour cream and with it, it almost tasted like another soup. We added just a tablespoon or so to individual servings. Will definitely make again but will add more mushrooms and carrots. Thanks for an easy, fantastic soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Our family enjoyed this recipe, though I did add a significant amount of herbs to give the soup more flavor, so I am giving 4 stars for a great starting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States