Beefy Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
YUM! I used spicy V8 and and about 1 cup less water for a thicker soup. Made with ground turkey instead of beef and it was still great. Added 3 4.5 oz cans of mushrooms since my guy is a mushroom-lover. Definitely salty enough, but we thought it needed a little something more for our taste. Added some onion powder, garlic powder and cayenne for a little zip. Excellent thick soup made even better with a crusty loaf of bread! For added convenience, make this in the morning and let it cook all day in your slow cooker. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
My family loves this recipe! It is easy and tastes SO good. I now make this soup all the time especially in the wintertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Best taste ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This soup rocks!!! I never leave reviews, but i felt the need on this one. I tweaked alittle as well- addes lots of garlic, a can of tomatoes, hot pepper flakes(1 tbsp)and extra beef broth(2 cups) i like my soup soupy. At the end i also added a can of green beans and a can of corn. Great hearty soup with fabulous flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Yup, this was great! It was hearty, excellent during cold winter months (or any other day really) and sure to please everyone. Is also easy to get creative and customize seasonings and spices to your taste. I could not let this recipe pass without expressing my thanks. Yoohoo, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Very hearty meal that lasted two of us for days and I even wound up freezing some. Used half ground turkey, half ground beef & extra mushrooms & lentils. This is a complete meal in itself...all we wanted was bread & butter with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
A great & easy recipe. I did take another reviewer's advice & added a bit more flavor by adding cayenne pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. Thought it still needed more & added a few dashes of hot sauce. I used about 8 oz. fresh mushrooms instead of canned & 1/2 ground beef & 1/2 ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Very thick and hearty soup. Excellent recipe as-is, but additional veggies are good too. The lentils cook quickly, which makes this a nice last minute dinner selection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
I used "better than bouillon" soup base instead of cubes and fresh mushrooms. The soup was ready in less than one hour. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I hesitate to give any recipes 5 stars, but this delicious lentil soup warrants it. I am a lawyer with a newborn child, and this recipe is easy enough for me to cook on the weekend to take some of the pressure off of my wife for later in the week. What's more, my wife and other children think this is a great meal, perfect for cold winter days. I've made two adjustments. First, I use the very spicy V8 brand vegetable juice, and the result is not as spicy as you might imagine, owing (I suppose) to the ameliorative effect of the lentils. Second, I double or triple the amount of mushrooms. They have enough substance (as if they were meat), and they absorb the flavor from the soup so well, that it is worth having more of them around. Really, this is worth a try. We've made it a weekly event lately because a double-batch provides enough lunch for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States