Beefy Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This was my first time cooking with lentils and I probably wont do it again. I dont care for them. This soup was bland and ordinary. Nothing special and I wont make it again. I have a better recipe for vegetable beef soup if I decide to make something similar to this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
loved this recipe!! Thank goodness I read some of the other reviews, as I combined their input to make one of the best soups I have ever made. I used spicy V-8, about a cup of merlot, and added about a tablespoon of garlic. I also used ground turkey instead of beef. Topped it off with cheesy garlic bread and it was a perfect autumn meal. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Very thick and hearty soup. Excellent recipe as-is, but additional veggies are good too. The lentils cook quickly, which makes this a nice last minute dinner selection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Very hearty meal that lasted two of us for days and I even wound up freezing some. Used half ground turkey, half ground beef & extra mushrooms & lentils. This is a complete meal in itself...all we wanted was bread & butter with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
i threw in a cup of red wine in place of boullion cubes and reduced the water. Left out mushrooms and celery, but added a half cup of barley as thickener and one small finely chopped potato to make it more like a stew. for extra kick, a tsp of cayenne is definitely needed. my partner and i ate 2/3 of the recipe quantity meant for 6-8 pple! hardly any to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Delicious. I made it with ground turkey and it was good too. I substituted tomato sauce for the V8 and left out the carrots. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 as I felt it needed a little more kick. I added 1/8 tsp. cayenne. I substituted ground turkey for the ground beef. After browning & draining the turkey, I put it in a separate bowl. I added a little olive oil to the pot & sauteed the veggies (including fresh mushrooms) & a little garlic before adding the rest of the ingredients. The bottle of V-8 I used had 46 oz. (not 48), which was no big deal. Also I happened to have brown & red lentils so I used both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I agree this is a good base to start with. I combined all the suggestions from previous reviews by unsing spicy V8 and adding cumin, garlic powder, cayenne and hot sauce. Turned out with a nice kick a which is how we like it, but I think it was pretty bland before these changes. This makes a lot of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
simple to prepare... tasty too. My husband would probably add some more exciting spices...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
This is a very good soup, but not 5 star outstanding in my opinion. I followed the recipe, and then later added a can of tomato paste to richen the flavor a bit. And garlic, of course I added garlic! A good solid 4 star soup -- I'll definetely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States