Beefy Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
wowie, we love this soup! variations made were to use rounded preportions of lentils & the veggies then i added 3 dashes of worchestershire sauce plus a healthy shake of cayenne pepper. to help mellow these spicy additions i used an extra can (14 oz.) of beef stock. final note: consider omitting the teaspoon of salt because the sodium in the bouillion (or broth) & worchestershire sauce is sufficient. thanks debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This soup rocks!!! I never leave reviews, but i felt the need on this one. I tweaked alittle as well- addes lots of garlic, a can of tomatoes, hot pepper flakes(1 tbsp)and extra beef broth(2 cups) i like my soup soupy. At the end i also added a can of green beans and a can of corn. Great hearty soup with fabulous flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This was my first time cooking with lentils and I probably wont do it again. I dont care for them. This soup was bland and ordinary. Nothing special and I wont make it again. I have a better recipe for vegetable beef soup if I decide to make something similar to this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
loved this recipe!! Thank goodness I read some of the other reviews, as I combined their input to make one of the best soups I have ever made. I used spicy V-8, about a cup of merlot, and added about a tablespoon of garlic. I also used ground turkey instead of beef. Topped it off with cheesy garlic bread and it was a perfect autumn meal. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Very thick and hearty soup. Excellent recipe as-is, but additional veggies are good too. The lentils cook quickly, which makes this a nice last minute dinner selection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Very hearty meal that lasted two of us for days and I even wound up freezing some. Used half ground turkey, half ground beef & extra mushrooms & lentils. This is a complete meal in itself...all we wanted was bread & butter with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
i threw in a cup of red wine in place of boullion cubes and reduced the water. Left out mushrooms and celery, but added a half cup of barley as thickener and one small finely chopped potato to make it more like a stew. for extra kick, a tsp of cayenne is definitely needed. my partner and i ate 2/3 of the recipe quantity meant for 6-8 pple! hardly any to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Delicious. I made it with ground turkey and it was good too. I substituted tomato sauce for the V8 and left out the carrots. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 as I felt it needed a little more kick. I added 1/8 tsp. cayenne. I substituted ground turkey for the ground beef. After browning & draining the turkey, I put it in a separate bowl. I added a little olive oil to the pot & sauteed the veggies (including fresh mushrooms) & a little garlic before adding the rest of the ingredients. The bottle of V-8 I used had 46 oz. (not 48), which was no big deal. Also I happened to have brown & red lentils so I used both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I agree this is a good base to start with. I combined all the suggestions from previous reviews by unsing spicy V8 and adding cumin, garlic powder, cayenne and hot sauce. Turned out with a nice kick a which is how we like it, but I think it was pretty bland before these changes. This makes a lot of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States