Beefy Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Omit the mushrooms, and this soup was delish! My whole family loved the twist on traditional lentil soup(which is rare). Instead of tomato cocktail, I used 3 cans of tomato sauce mixed with 3 cups of water. Really does freeze well too! BON APPETITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyAnguissette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I usually make lentil soup with polish sausage, so this was a nice change. The V8 juice in the fridge was a bit too old, so I used canned whole tomatoes instead. It froze extremely well, so be sure to make a huge batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mile High Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I used spicy V8 and the soup turned out great (not at all spicy). I don't like mushrooms so I leave those out and add extra carrots and celery. I've also added other veggies--it's a great soup for using up whatever you have. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Delicious. My husband absolutely loved it and couldnt stop raving about it. Next time I will add more mushrooms cause he loves those. I think I added a bit more lentils than the recipe asked for, but this was a VERY good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Great winter soup. Very hearty. I used fresh mushrooms, but sauteed them in butter before I added them. Kind of reminds me of a kicked up chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.T.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was very good! I left out the celery and added frozen spinach (personal preference) and it was so good. I never would have thought to use V8 for a base...but it is perfect and I'm going to try it with other recipes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TONYNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calabash, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Really good. I didn't change a thing. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesquite, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I made this last night and my roommate and I both love it! I used a cup of beef broth to replace a cup of vegetable juice. and it still tastes good :D Super simple too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This was delicious. I let most of the liquid boil out because I was in the mood for a stew more than a soup. Great recipe! I will definitely be making this often during the cold winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCravings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
EXCELLENT! I have been looking for tasty, healthy, easy, and cheap meals. This is IT. I didn't have all the veggie juice, so I subbed 300 mL of bouillon for some of the juice. also, I added 125g of tofu and other fridge leftovers. Serve it with the Excellent and Healthy cornbread on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States