Beefy Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Solid recipe - very hearty and full of taste. I added some garlic, two small diced potatoes, sliced cauliflower stalk, 1 tbsp sweet paprika, a generous sprinkling of oregano, 3 diced tomatoes, and diced portabello mushroom caps (vs canned mushrooms). The lentils were cooked after about an hour, but I let it go for an additional 30 mins. Really full robust taste and a good recipe to cook on weekends to give yourself a break the rest of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Made this for a group of friends tonight. Doubled the recipe and used beef broth instead of the boullion and water. Also used extra mushrooms as one review had recommended. It was great. Everyone loved it. I will definitly make it again! Also had a salad and warm crusty bread from Panera.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Oh, my goodness. Thank you for this recipe. This is officially my first review for a recipe, ever. I am the kind of cook that has a very hard time strictly following the recipe. Since this was my first time cooking with lentils, I just wanted to stick with the recipe. I made this two weekends in a row. The first time with no changes, the second I used tomato sauce instead of the tomato cocktail (I had none here). I actually like it about the same both ways. My 9 year old (picky) and husband (yep, picky) both LOVED, and I mean LOVED this soup. I served it with cornbread. I do think there definitely is room for adapting to a cook's tastes in this recipe with the veggies used. I think lima beans and corn would be a perfect addition. Thank you again so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This soup is wonderful. We had a couple of extra unexpected people at our table last night - I just added another handful of lentils and increased the Vegetable juice and vegetables a little, and there was more than enough. We love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I am rating 4 stars because I made changes per other reviewers' suggestions. I used the Spicy V8, added additional chili flakes, added garlic, subbed a box of frozen spinach for the mushrooms (didn't have any on hand), and increased lentils to 2 cups, also added a little chili powder, and didn't have any Worcestershire. Overall, very tasty and healthful soup and very easy one-pot meal. FYI: To make this a faster meal, you cold use split red lentils instead of the whole brown or green ones (available at Indian markets. You might have to increase the amount or play with the liquid levels, but the cook time would be cut in half. Sometime Trader Joe's even has precooked black lentils in the refrigerated section--talk about easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Definitely add garlic (I used fresh) and the extra spices the other reviewers mentioned--but fantastic overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Efland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Delicious. I added some crushed red pepper flakes. I used my slow cooker for about 6 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Good versatile recipe. I used kidney beans due to lentil allergy, and I added green beans for color. I liked the addition of V8 juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanineyBeaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
this recipe is a keeper. I did change it abit by adding pearl barley for the taste and healthy reason. It turns out like a stoup. I also top it with fresh chopped parsley (since I have some to use up). It's so hearty, healthy. DH kept going back for more. I'll definitely make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Just so-so. Needs a LOT of something to jazz it up. Definitely healthy and low fat, lots of fiber, but very bland. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States