Beefy Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This recipe was so good. I had some organic beef and wanted the perfect recipe (organic meat is expensive on a tight budget!). It was delicious. I used canned tomato and some buffalo wing sauce because I did not have vegetable juice. I also added some cabbage, because I think beef goes so well with cabbage. I used a pressure cooker to cook the lentils faster and the soup was done in 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is one of the best recipes I have found on Allrecipes.com. I made the recipe exactly as is, except I used spicy V-8 for the tomato juice. I was never a huge fan of lentils, but this soup has changed my mind! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
THis soup was edible, but nothing special. My familiy did not like it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
very good soup and so easy in the crcokpot.. I added potatoes and some seasonings.. cayenne pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. Delicious on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is a good basic recipe, although I found I had to add a lot to make it a *great* recipe. I used chicken stock, one small can of tomato sauce and one can of petite diced tomatoes (that's all I had and I wasn't going to the store!) instead of boullion cubes and V8. I added lots of spices: garlic, onion powder, red pepper flakes, two bay leaves as it simmered and omitted the salt. Also added way more than one dash of Worcestershire sauce. Overall it tasted great, but really needed the extra spice. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
It only took 30 minutes to cook, not 1 1/2 hours. i also used 4 beef buillion cubes, and mic them with the 3 cups of water. for quick and easy i use baby carrots, and celery seed (more flavor). I like mushrooms, so I added 2 small cans. This ultra healthy recipe is suitable to use with "I Love My Dixon Diet" by Sharon Dixon. Check it out if you want a diet that's easy to stick with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I made this recipe when I had friends over last week. It is great! Very filling and hearty. It's also very easy. I made it the night before so we could have it for lunch after church. I made a couple of modifications. I added some garlic and instead of using tomato juice I used diced tomatos (I don't care for saucy tomatos). I couldn't find celery at the store where I shopped, so I used celery salt - it worked. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Delicious! This is my new favorite. I did use tomato juice and beef broth instead of the listed ingredients because that's all I had in pantry: 4 cups juice and 4 cups broth. My tastebuds decided it needed just a tad more 'something' so I added another generous splash of worcestershire and 1 generous tsp of ground rosemary. That did it for me. Thanks for sharing this tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
A good , very hearty soup. Be sure to use the spicy V-8. I followed the advice of others and browned my onions and some garlic before adding them to the soup. I used fresh mushrooms and added about 6 oz. of Cabernet the last 20 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Fantastic! I've made this a few times and now have about a gallon in the freezer in containers for lunches/dinners. This is definitely a keeper. (I made a little more than the recipe calls for using twice as many veggies, 50% more beef, a whole bag of lentils, and two large bottles of v8 - one low sodium and one spicy. Doubled the water and boullion. It's yummy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States