Beefy Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was excellent. Rather than using 3 cups of water, I disolved the beef bullion cubes in 1 cup of water, added a can of condensed consume and 7 cups of V8. My wife, who announced last week that she would not eat lentils, did not realize what I had made and was raving how good this soup was before she realized what she was eating. She now says she will eat lentil soup anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was good. I soaked the lentils in boiling water for 15 minutes and then drained. This gets out some of the muddy look of lentils. Added cumin and used beef stew meat instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Everyone really liked this but Emily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This definitely was not fabulous. I don't even think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I added garlic powder and cumin. the cumin is a must. everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I loved everything about this soup except for the canned mushrooms. They are chewy and slimy. Next time I will use fresh mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hotmamacook
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was pretty yummy and satisfying. I changed the ingredients a bit. Instead of beef I used jalapano keilbasa, I used 3 cups spicey and 3 cups regular V-8, I added a can of potatoes, I used a cup of green onion, also added 3 cloves of minced garlic, and though I love mushrooms, unfortunatly I had none on hand. If I did, I believe I could give this recipe 5 stars. This turned out a little spicey just the way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hotmamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This recipe was so good. I had some organic beef and wanted the perfect recipe (organic meat is expensive on a tight budget!). It was delicious. I used canned tomato and some buffalo wing sauce because I did not have vegetable juice. I also added some cabbage, because I think beef goes so well with cabbage. I used a pressure cooker to cook the lentils faster and the soup was done in 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is one of the best recipes I have found on Allrecipes.com. I made the recipe exactly as is, except I used spicy V-8 for the tomato juice. I was never a huge fan of lentils, but this soup has changed my mind! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States