Beefy Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I LOVE it! I modified because I had 2 l of Motts Clamatto The Works and wow the flavour is fab! I read other reviews and added 2 cloves of garlic that I sauted with the onion and fresh mushrooms I used 4 pkts of beef oxo and 2 -3 cups water. big tbsp of worchestershire sauce and 1 sp cumin and additional tsp chopped garlic (in a jar). I used half ground chicken cause it was bought by mistake and I don't have much recipes for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
3 cans V8 spicy-find an alternative with less sodium about 8 cups chicken broth add lots of garlic add dried basil and hot sauce and extra worchestshire check taste for seasoning I used chicken & pork sausage instead of ground beef I added some barley also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This is the best lentil soup I've made. I used turkey ground beef and fresh mushrooms. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I had to add about three cups of chicken broth because all you could taste was the vegetable juice. I also added 10 cloves of garlic because it was really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Good overall, but a little lackluster in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
A good, nutritious soup. Solid recipe, but I think some garlic would be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roz147

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Yummy and healthy, I used ground turkey and spicy v8, cayenne as well, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was such a surprising recipe - much better than I anticipated and easy. I used fresh sliced mushrooms instead of canned and followed some of the other reviewers advice and "spiced it up" a bit - red pepper flake, paprika, a couple dashes of hot sauce. The end result was like a cross between vegetable soup and chili. Quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq101178

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I liked this as a base recipe. I did not have any beef broth and I suspect it would have been better, but I used chicken broth instead. I did not use mushrooms, just didn't sound good and I am not really a fan of canned mushrooms anyway. Following the other suggestions, I added 1/2 tsp each of dried parsley, thyme, and basil. Also added two bay leaves and 1/4 tsp ground celery seed. I think it needs some additional seasoning to really bring the flavors out. Overall a very good soup recipe - next time I will zest it up with cayenne pepper - this time we just added it on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Would have been better if my lentils cooked through. Not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States