Beefy Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This is the best lentil soup I've made. I used turkey ground beef and fresh mushrooms. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I had to add about three cups of chicken broth because all you could taste was the vegetable juice. I also added 10 cloves of garlic because it was really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Good overall, but a little lackluster in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
A good, nutritious soup. Solid recipe, but I think some garlic would be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roz147

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Yummy and healthy, I used ground turkey and spicy v8, cayenne as well, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was such a surprising recipe - much better than I anticipated and easy. I used fresh sliced mushrooms instead of canned and followed some of the other reviewers advice and "spiced it up" a bit - red pepper flake, paprika, a couple dashes of hot sauce. The end result was like a cross between vegetable soup and chili. Quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq101178

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I liked this as a base recipe. I did not have any beef broth and I suspect it would have been better, but I used chicken broth instead. I did not use mushrooms, just didn't sound good and I am not really a fan of canned mushrooms anyway. Following the other suggestions, I added 1/2 tsp each of dried parsley, thyme, and basil. Also added two bay leaves and 1/4 tsp ground celery seed. I think it needs some additional seasoning to really bring the flavors out. Overall a very good soup recipe - next time I will zest it up with cayenne pepper - this time we just added it on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Would have been better if my lentils cooked through. Not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Totally delicious. Shared with neighbors even with one who hates lentil soup! She asked for this recipe. Thank you Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was the best I ever had! Awesome! This is what I did.Added 6 cups water 2 cans beef broth and omitted the salt and boulion to lower the sodium and it wasn't missed at all. about 1/2 tsp. basil, parsely and about 1/2 tsp tyme. I'm craving it right now. Thanks for posting it and for all the great ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States