Beefy Cornbread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This recipe was a good idea and with a little variation everybody in my house liked it. I did not use gravy mix or barbecue sauce, instead I used taco seasoning and about half a can of tomato sauce, Also I threw in some extra seasoning, onion garlic, chilli powder, ect. and a can of corn. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This Recipe is a great starting point because it needs more flavor. It was perfect for my purposes because I was trying to replicate my husband's favorite dish from his Grandma's kitchen. A tough act to follow! I used less gravy than the recipe recommends and added chili powder, garlic powder, finely diced jalapeno pepper for kick (my husband likes kick), subbed the beef for ground turkey, and added a 1/4 cup of sugar to the cornbread for the spicy/sweet contrast. Next time I'd sautee 1/4 cup onion into the turkey for even more flavor. :) It was absolutely delicious and we loved it! I'm going to keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azizah2009

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This was tasty. I nixed the gravy and bbq sauce and instead just used tomato sauce and threw in some corn. After I had spiced it up based on others' reviews (cumin, taco seasoning, garlic, etc.) it kind of ended up being chili with a cornbread topping all in 1 dish. Delicious. Might work well for potluck where you need a 1 dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Great meal. I spiced it up and added cheese. My kids will anthing with ketchup, BBQ sauce and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was great. I sauteed onions and garlic in with the beef, added chili powder, worcestershire sauce, frozen corn, and black eye peas (instead of kidney beans -didn't have any), and plenty of bbq sauce. I also omitted the gravy. Once that was all mixed together, I stirred in a heaping scoop of sour cream. Then I put a nice layer of shredded cheese on top of mixture, and topped that with lots of cornbread mix! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed this. Found it a bit salty, but I believe that was my error when making the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristina72913
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This turned out pretty good. It was pretty easy to make. I used ground turkey instead of beef. And I'm not a huge fan of kidney beans, but it turned out pretty good with the corn bread. This will be a keeper for weeknights when I need to quickly put something together for dinner. I'd probably try and add more veggies to the mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina72913

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
After reading the reviews I was afraid we weren't going to like it. Well, I can say the family loved it! I left out the BBQ sauce on accident but added beef bullion into the mixture along with some garlic powder and chili powder. It was great, we'll be putting this one into the dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Made this for the family and it was a big hit. Not a fan of kidney beans so I added corn and peas. But still a great recipe, I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Liesman Kyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Had to make this gluten/dairy free....so that eliminated the gravy and BBQ sauce. Followed other reviewers and used my homemade taco seasoning and some tomato sauce, added corn and some bell peppers. Made the cornbread from scratch using a gluten free recipe. Very good, everyone in the family really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States