Beefy Cornbread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This recipe was a good idea and with a little variation everybody in my house liked it. I did not use gravy mix or barbecue sauce, instead I used taco seasoning and about half a can of tomato sauce, Also I threw in some extra seasoning, onion garlic, chilli powder, ect. and a can of corn. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Good comfort food. Added a dab of dried red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
one of the better recipes from Campbell's. I enjoyed this and see that is could be kids friendly if my kid ate anything that isn't chicken nuggets or pizza. I didn't care for the cornbread but that is easily subbed with buscuits. It was fast and easy a definite weekday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This was tasty. I nixed the gravy and bbq sauce and instead just used tomato sauce and threw in some corn. After I had spiced it up based on others' reviews (cumin, taco seasoning, garlic, etc.) it kind of ended up being chili with a cornbread topping all in 1 dish. Delicious. Might work well for potluck where you need a 1 dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This Recipe is a great starting point because it needs more flavor. It was perfect for my purposes because I was trying to replicate my husband's favorite dish from his Grandma's kitchen. A tough act to follow! I used less gravy than the recipe recommends and added chili powder, garlic powder, finely diced jalapeno pepper for kick (my husband likes kick), subbed the beef for ground turkey, and added a 1/4 cup of sugar to the cornbread for the spicy/sweet contrast. Next time I'd sautee 1/4 cup onion into the turkey for even more flavor. :) It was absolutely delicious and we loved it! I'm going to keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azizah2009

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Good start. I loved the bbq sauce with chili, I always add lots of walla walla onions, sour cream, green and red peppers, chili powder, warcestire sauce, and whatever else i can dig up. The cornbread mix on top is absolutely brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by epeacock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Great meal. I spiced it up and added cheese. My kids will anthing with ketchup, BBQ sauce and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
We cut everything in half except the corn bread a baked a bit longer. We loved it, will be making again. Only thing we will change for the next time is maybe adding a little chili powder or old bay for a bit more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Had to make this gluten/dairy free....so that eliminated the gravy and BBQ sauce. Followed other reviewers and used my homemade taco seasoning and some tomato sauce, added corn and some bell peppers. Made the cornbread from scratch using a gluten free recipe. Very good, everyone in the family really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristina72913
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This turned out pretty good. It was pretty easy to make. I used ground turkey instead of beef. And I'm not a huge fan of kidney beans, but it turned out pretty good with the corn bread. This will be a keeper for weeknights when I need to quickly put something together for dinner. I'd probably try and add more veggies to the mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina72913

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States