Beefy Chinese Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
My husband said this was one of the best things I've ever made! Warning though, it makes a LOT. I was only cooking for the 2 of us, and using half the filling made a ton. I recommend this with Oriental Dipping Sauce from this site. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
These are fabulous. I had so many compliments. People were surprised that I had made them, and that they tasted like a restraunts dumplings. I had a few as regular dumplings like the recipe calls for, but I premade these for later in the evening. After boiling them, I put them on a cookie sheet lined with reynolds non stick foil and popped them in the fridge. When we were about 15 minutes from dinner being served I put a tsp of sesame oil in a non stick frying pan and cooked them about a minute or so on each side. This warmed them up and voila instant potsticker. The other thing I did that made this so easy was to use a small bag of coleslaw mix instead of messing with so much grating. This also had the purple cabbage bits in it and made it very colorful. I did also add a bit more soy sauce and a little dribble of balsamic vinegar. Then just let it all steam until soggy. Beware this makes a ton. I used a package of wrappers that had 60 in it and still had a heaping cereal bowl of filling. People went nuts for them though and nothing was left after about an hour, as some came back for seconds and thirds. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
These were awesome!!! One thing I noticed was, you should wait till the water is boiling to drop the dumplings in, so they take a solid shape and don't fall apart. The first half of my batch of dumplings broke apart because I put them in before the water had boiled. This dish was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Awesome and surprisingly easy! Sure they took a little time to assemble, but the 5 minute cooking time makes up for the assembly time! I did think that the filling was a little bland, I might use 1/2 ground pork next time or add some extra seasoning. I also thought the actual wonton paper tasted bland so I will salt the water when cooking next time. Despite these personal changes I would make, I will definitely add this recipe to my regular rotation for meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Add shredded ginger and minced garlic. Could add heat of some sort too. Wait till water boils to put dumplings in. Could try frying in pan after boiling just until turning into pot-stickers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Good recipe. Not hard to make, but wrapping the dumplings is labor and time intensive, so plan for it. My roommate and I also fried about half of them. That didn't turn out as well as boiling them; the fried ones were a bit bland and the wrappers were chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
AWESOME...my husband's fav. My only change: fry instead of boil in about 1 inch of olive oil -- come out crispy and yummy in just a few minutes. Tips for perfect wontons: Use mixture of water and soy sauce to moisten the wrappers before fillings -- the tops stick together better. I also make a teriyaki sauce, submitted by LINDSXLT4X4, to dip these in. "A great homemade teriyaki for this dish is 1 T. cornstarch, 1 T. cold water, 1/2 c. sugar, 1/2 c. soy sauce, 1/4 c. cider vingar, 1 clove minced garlic, a dash each of ground ginger and ground black pepper (according to taste). Simmer all together, stirring regularly til thickened." I'm telling you -- AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LacyBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leakey, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
substituted chicken for the beef & added some garlic, simply gorgeous. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Boil these, then pan fry in a tiny bit of oil until sticking slightly to pan (thus - pot stickers!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Simple and soooooo delicious. I added some garlic to the mixture just for extra flavor. Did everything exactly and they came out great. You have to spend a little time putting the dumplings together, but this is very easy to do. Thanks for the recipe. This will be done often at my house. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VETTY430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States