Beefy Chinese Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
MUST TRY this way....u can be the master.... 1. Double the cabbage, mix with some salt, stand for 10 min. squeeze dry. this make your filling not too watery, and tastier. 2. Serve with shredded ginger soak with black vinegar. 3. Use 1 potion flour and 0.4 potion water to make dumpling skin. (knee until combine,look bit dry,don't add any more water, wrap with plastic, stand for 1 hour, the dough will come soft and moist enough.) This is traditional North China style (Shanghai, Beijing) dumpling skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
These are amazing! I used ground turkey, added red cabbage and some minced green onion. I boiled them, then pan fry them a bit. I made the with the Oriental Dipping Sauce here. I could not stop eating these. I made like 1/2 of the recipe and used almost a whole pkg of wonton wrappers (12 oz). I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
AWESOME...my husband's fav. My only change: fry instead of boil in about 1 inch of olive oil -- come out crispy and yummy in just a few minutes. Tips for perfect wontons: Use mixture of water and soy sauce to moisten the wrappers before fillings -- the tops stick together better. I also make a teriyaki sauce, submitted by LINDSXLT4X4, to dip these in. "A great homemade teriyaki for this dish is 1 T. cornstarch, 1 T. cold water, 1/2 c. sugar, 1/2 c. soy sauce, 1/4 c. cider vingar, 1 clove minced garlic, a dash each of ground ginger and ground black pepper (according to taste). Simmer all together, stirring regularly til thickened." I'm telling you -- AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LacyBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leakey, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I don't know the English way of spelling it, but in Ukrainian, we call these Vereniki, and I just love them. I also make them with cottage cheese smothered in sour cream, or fried cabbage and tossed in fried onions, served as a main meal. Just happened to have the ingredients for this version and highly recommend it. Its a good recipe to make for children that don't like vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanessa
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
made these tonight with only a few minor modifications. used ground turkey instead of beef, added a little mince garlic and mince ginger to the mixture. boiled them till they were done then made pot stickers out of them.... they were extremely good.. a little time consuming to make and a little frustrating when it came to "shredding" the cabbage lol. but it was very well worth it in the end.. served it with the oriental dipping sauce from another reviewers suggestion and it was so good.. i wont ever have to go to an over priced chinese restaurant to get my dumpling fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Simple and soooooo delicious. I added some garlic to the mixture just for extra flavor. Did everything exactly and they came out great. You have to spend a little time putting the dumplings together, but this is very easy to do. Thanks for the recipe. This will be done often at my house. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VETTY430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
These are fabulous. I had so many compliments. People were surprised that I had made them, and that they tasted like a restraunts dumplings. I had a few as regular dumplings like the recipe calls for, but I premade these for later in the evening. After boiling them, I put them on a cookie sheet lined with reynolds non stick foil and popped them in the fridge. When we were about 15 minutes from dinner being served I put a tsp of sesame oil in a non stick frying pan and cooked them about a minute or so on each side. This warmed them up and voila instant potsticker. The other thing I did that made this so easy was to use a small bag of coleslaw mix instead of messing with so much grating. This also had the purple cabbage bits in it and made it very colorful. I did also add a bit more soy sauce and a little dribble of balsamic vinegar. Then just let it all steam until soggy. Beware this makes a ton. I used a package of wrappers that had 60 in it and still had a heaping cereal bowl of filling. People went nuts for them though and nothing was left after about an hour, as some came back for seconds and thirds. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dollfayce
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I, too, added ginger to mine. I also omitted the cabbage (not a fan) and used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I used the Wonton Wrappers recipe and will serve with the Oriental Dipping Sauce. Very delicious...they'll become a regular item around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollfayce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Add shredded ginger and minced garlic. Could add heat of some sort too. Wait till water boils to put dumplings in. Could try frying in pan after boiling just until turning into pot-stickers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States