Beefy Chinese Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Made these with a pound of gound beef and a half pound of ground pork. Used shredded cabbage and carrot coleslaw mix and added grated fresh ginger. Served with a sesame-soy dipping sauce, and my family loved them. Next time I'll add some minced garlic to the filling. They are time-consuming to make but not hard at all. This one's going into the keeper file. Thanks for the recipe! UPDATE: I made again with garlic added and subbed toasted sesame oil for the vegetable oil. Yummy! These are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Boil these, then pan fry in a tiny bit of oil until sticking slightly to pan (thus - pot stickers!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
These were awesome!!! One thing I noticed was, you should wait till the water is boiling to drop the dumplings in, so they take a solid shape and don't fall apart. The first half of my batch of dumplings broke apart because I put them in before the water had boiled. This dish was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I thought these were tasty, I added some hosin sauce to the meat mixture for extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This recipe was good and easy to make....time consuming but simple. I do agree with the other reviews and this recipe does need just a little bit more flavor & doing a half pork half beef just might do the trick. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Used ground pork instead of beef...were good but the next patch I make I will add little more of certain things for more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
we love them. good with soy sauce, but I withh try next time with the asian dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Awesome and surprisingly easy! Sure they took a little time to assemble, but the 5 minute cooking time makes up for the assembly time! I did think that the filling was a little bland, I might use 1/2 ground pork next time or add some extra seasoning. I also thought the actual wonton paper tasted bland so I will salt the water when cooking next time. Despite these personal changes I would make, I will definitely add this recipe to my regular rotation for meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
My husband said this was one of the best things I've ever made! Warning though, it makes a LOT. I was only cooking for the 2 of us, and using half the filling made a ton. I recommend this with Oriental Dipping Sauce from this site. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Good recipe. Not hard to make, but wrapping the dumplings is labor and time intensive, so plan for it. My roommate and I also fried about half of them. That didn't turn out as well as boiling them; the fried ones were a bit bland and the wrappers were chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States