Beefy Chinese Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
WOW! These were amazing! I used chicken, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I also scaled it down (using only 1 lb of chicken) and it still made a ton of dumplings. But, I'm glad to have the leftovers. These truly are worth your efforts. It does take some time to make each dumpling, but the time you spend making them you get back with the short cooking time. Just excellent...thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Delicious flavor all around. I made it exactly as written and it turned out great. One thing that wasn't clear is the size of the wrapper used. We used wanton wrappers which are smaller than egg roll wrappers...LOTS of work, but good. I tried boiling and just got a mess, we ended up steaming them which is more traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palos Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I used ground pork instead of beef and it was really nice! My family doesn't like the texture of steamed duplings so I pan fried it. The wontons came up crispy and perfectly cooked! I love these little bundles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I made this with ground chicken, pre-packaged "Angel Hair" slaw, and omitted the egg. I also replaced the wonton wrappers with gyoza wrappers (egg free) and deep fried them. I couldn't cook them fast enough for my family. My child who has an egg allergy was able to enjoy them as well with my modifications. This does make a lot of filling and there are a lot of wrappers per pack, so we have enough to make another batch to freeze or steam, but the deep fried version, albeit not so healthy, were super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
WOW! Taste like restaurant yumcha. I would suggest to use green onions. This gives the recipe an authentic oriental taste. I tried boiling and frying, both ways are delicious. About 500 grams ground beef will make 80 plus dumplings - that's if you fill it with 1 teaspoon(not heaping)per dumpling. Teaspoon size filling is good because wonton wrapping cooks so fast. If you put too much filling you will end up with burnt wonton, uncooked filling.If you are frying it, the temperature should not be too hot or the wonton wrapping will brown too quickly or burn.You can also freeze this recipe.I used glad wrap in between layers to prevent dumplings from sticking.No need to thaw out if using it frozen.Just make sure your water is boiling before dropping the dumplings.If frying your dumplings, your cooking oil temperature should be similar to frying an egg.This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aussiemum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My fussy 9 y/o daughter LOVES to make and this recipe. It is so easy, but makes A LOT. I found the filling freezes nicely too. The only thing I changed was, I used ground chicken instead of beef, (just because it's what I had) it was still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Yum! I halved the beef, cabbage, carrot and onion, but kept the rest of the ingredients the same (accidentally). Turned out with a good amount of seasoning (but maybe a bit too much oil - my fault since I was supposed to half it). I should have made the whole batch, there were no leftovers except two measly dumplings for lunch the next day!! I tried to pan fry a few right after boiling, but that didn't work so well. I'll probably need to boil ahead, chill, and then pan fry before serving. I served them with "Oriental Dipping Sauce" and "Quick Chinese Style Vermicelli," both from this site, on the side. I also added a few drops of hot sauce to spicen up the filling, may do more next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Easy once you get the hang of wrapping them, using egg whites at the ends helps hold it together. Used cole slaw shredded mix to cut the time in half and low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Pretty easy but took time filling. Sub'd pork for beef and browned it with onion and then added rest of ingred's also added green chilles for a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
These are much better fried. Instead of boiling them we fried each side in olive oil and they were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverdale, Utah, USA
Living In: Midvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States