Beefy Chinese Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I can't get enough of these! I don't eat red meat so I substituted ground turkey for the beef. I also added teriyaki sauce to meat mixture after letting it marinate. I seasoned the water with a very generous amount of salt, onion powder, soy & teriyaki sauce to make a dumpling soup. It took everything to keep me from eating the whole pot to myself! I must say, I forgot to add the egg so my dumplings fell a part a bit so hopefully when I remake these, the egg doesn't affect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
we deep fry them and they are a hit with the whole family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Troy, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I made this twice- one batch without any changes, the second with a lot of changes- and both times I didn't care for it. If I could give this recipe 1/2 star I would. I have eaten a lot of dumplings in my life, and this recipe tasted nothing like any dumpling of any Asian culture I have ever had. In my second batch my modifications included adding ginger, garlic, more onion and onion powder. I added spices of all sorts, testing one dumpling at a time to see if my new mixture of spices improved the taste. Though my attempts to alter this for the better did greatly improve upon this recipe, the dumplings still tasted bland and unappetizing. The next night I made dumplings using a different recipe from another website and it actually tasted delicious. I was gravelly disappointed with this recipe, to say the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I thought this recipe was not very traditional at first, since dumplings are typically made with pork and shrimp, but these were a hit! The most requested dumpling from my non-Asian friends, these make great pot-stickers. This recipe makes at least 125 dumplings, so scale back if needed. I like to make them with round dumpling skins, not the thin, square wonton type skins, and freeze them on a plate. When ready to cook, just take them out of the freezer and put them directly into a pan with about a tablespoon of oil and 3/4 to one cup of water. Cover and cook on med-high until water is mostly evaporated, then remove lid and fry on both sides until nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Oh my gosh! I was so proud of myself after making these! I had never bought wonton wrappers before and had to ask a friend where to find them. They were in the cooler section of produce. I followed the recipe exactly. I may try this with some spicy pork next time. I had about 30% left over filling, so I just froze it for next time I want to make these. Labor intensive on the prep, but worth the finished product. You really need a dipping sauce with this - I just whipped up some soy, sesame oil, and hoisen sauce to dip and that worked great. I prepped the dumplings and made the mistake of stacking them all on a plate before being ready to boil them. Some got stuck together. I had the same sticky problem when I boiled them and put them on a platter to serve, some stuck together. I would add just a little oil to them upon removing from being boiled so they won't stick. When prepping I just need to make sure they are only in one layer so they don't stick together. I see others fried them in oil after cooking and I agree that seems like it would be a tasty alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I thought the filling was a little bland so I for sure had to have some sort of dip with the dumplings. Everyone was very impressed to see hand made dumplings so I will for sure be making these again. Although it was time consuming. If you really like doing everything from scratch try the Wonton Wrapper Recipe here on allrecipes. I used it for these dumplings and I would definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starsOjupiter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This recipe was SO simple and tasted amazing!! All my friends couldn't get enough of these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Absolutley delicious!! I had some trouble getting them to hold together in the water, so I instead heated some oil in a pan and fried them like pot stickers. Not the healthy version but between myself, my husband, and my three year old we ate the whole batch. Great with oriental dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I had to adjust the seasoning a bit and I used 1 lb of beef and one package coleslaw mix. It made 3 dozen with leftover filling. I cooked them potsticker style, fry 1 dozen at a time on one side only in peanut oil till brown, add 1/2 cup water and immediately cover till water evaporates. Amazing! I found a Korean BBQ sauce that I diluted for a dipping sauce. The party guests went crazy for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States