Beefy Chinese Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Came out amazing. I did add garlic but so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alea Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mainerisms
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I just got done making these, and they are AWESOME! They are a bit time-consuming, but completely worth the additional effort. I used egg roll wrappers, cut them in half, then after putting the filling in, I simply folde it over, which means you only have to seal 3 sides and makes them a little easier to handle while assembling them. The boiling is necessary as it makes the dumplings tender, but after they were done boiling, I put as many as would fit into a non-stick pan with a little sesame oil and fried them lightly on both sides until slightly browned, which gave them a light crispiness, complementing the tenderness. I followed a recipe for teriyaki dipping sauce listed in LacyBelle's review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
You should substitute beef with pork for a more authentic flavor, or with ground seitan or TVP for a vegan version. (If going vegan also use 1 TBSP ground flax seed and 3 TBSP water in lieu of the egg.) Meatless or not, you want to add ginger to this filling. And to cook, heat some oil in a frying pan and lay the dumplings in the pan. Give them a cupla minutes to brown then add about a cup of water or broth to the pan and cover. Let the dumplings steam until the wrappers look ready. Mmmmm I'm getting so hungry just thinking about them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fuzzymildew
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
It tasted fine but my wonton skins weren't square so I had a hard time folding them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzzymildew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Haven't tried these yet... Just a question for anyone... do you cook the meat first? 5 minutes of boiling doesn't sound long enough to cook beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
My partner and I love this recipe and I make it all the time. As a cook who likes to experiment with different tastes and textures, I added about a cup of diced water chestnuts (for texture and added crunch) and roughly 1.5 cups of rough minced shiitake mushrooms. Made it for some friends who were visiting and they begged me for the recipe. Goes great with the Gyoza Sauce recipe on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
These were fantastic. I only used 1 lb of ground beef and used shredded cole slaw mix. The kids had a blast helping me make them too. I sauteed them in batches in a tiny bit of sesame seed oil after boiling. I can't wait to reheat my leftovers the same way, I'm sure they'll taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I have been making this recipe for many years and it is easily adaptable to personal tastes and "stuff" you have on hand. Sometimes I boil them but mostly I fry them in a little oil and then pour in 1/3 cup chicken broth, cover and let steam until the broth is gone. I have always called them pot stickers except they don't stick because I use a nonstick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knox, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
very flavorful, I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clayton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States