Beefy Chinese Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I cannot give this 5*s b/c I wasn't able to make it as is. I'm not able to eat cabbage so I made them with sweet potato as a substitute. I must say they are delicious! I steamed them for 10mins, but next time I'll bake them. B/c there were so many (aprox. 40-45 dumplings) I steamed enough for two and froze the rest to make later. My favorite kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
these are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
My first attempt at making Chinese Style Dumplings......They turned out wonderfully!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Takes a while to make the dumplings, but they are def worth the time and effort! I made a few "test" dumplings exactly as the receipe states with the exception I used sesame oil instead of vegetable oil and green oinions instead of regular onion. The dumplings were a little too bland for my taste so I added some garlic powder and a couple tablespoons of oyster sauce. My picky-eating husband LOVED them! I took the rest to a pot luck lunch at work and the entire staff loved them. Many requests for the receipe! Also, used the Teriyaki Dipping Sauce receipe another reviewer suggested, highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shay650

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
absolutely worth the back-breaking work!! My husband and I love spicy food, so I admit we added one minced jalapeno and about 1 T sriracha - gave it a yummy kick! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I have to admit, I am very happy with how these came out!! My family and I couldn't eat faster if we tried! They are a lot of work but you get in a routine and you are done in no time and it is well worth it!! I scaled it down a bit with just 1 lb. of ground beef, 2 cups of rainbow slaw (so I didn't have to shred), and used green onions instead of regular. I did leave the amount of seasoning the same and it was soooo GOOD!! You have to try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Valley, California, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Yummy yum yum. The only down side is that it takes longer to put together than it does to eat. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
excellent, excellent, excellent. i used substitute meat crumbles so my veggie daughter would eat them and they were fantastic. NO ONE knew it wasn't ground beef. also made the asian dipping sauce and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
These were all right. I thought they were way too much work for the quality of product. I didn't like the way they came out of the water - unless one was going to use them in soup perhaps. I fried them and they were fine but...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This is hardly an accurate review of this recipe. I had been given a recipe for Chicken Dumplings by an Oriental woman that I used to work with. She quoted the recipe from memory and spoke broken English so I assumed it was this reason that my dumlings were not as tasty as hers. I used parts of this recipe to to recreate her yummy dumplings. I substituted 1lb of ground chicken for 1.5lbs beef, 4-5 chopped green onions for regular onion, and sesame oil for vegetable oil. She always fried her dumplings but never said that she boiled them, so I tried boiling them first, then frying them over a medium low heat. I found that when you boiled them in a sauce pan, you had to stir until the water boiled again or a few would stick to the bottom, and if you fry the boiled dumplings on too high a heat, they stick. In the end I came to the conclusion that if you want to fry the dumplings, boiling isn't necessary. My co-workers dumplings are still the best, but these were pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States