Beefy Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Since previous reviews had said it was thick, I used Tostitos Restaruant style salsa which is a bit watery. The store only had light Velveta and I think that also made it thinner maybe, I added the green chillis as suggested and used dehydrated onion. I actually added about a half cup or more of shredded cheddar to thicken it up. Needed stirred frequently, but it was very good served with fritos and golden Tostitos. Will make it again because everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
It's easy to rely on a recipe like this. First, it can be prepared easily with just a few common ingredients, which one often has on hand. Secondly, it's delicious--a recipe that will be a hit anytime, anywhere. Thirdly, it's flexible. One can add and subtract a items to suit specialized or regional taste buds. I used medium salsa, but look forward to making this recipe again with the hot stuff. If I get really gutsy, I'd like see what a few red pepper flakes add to it. Spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
AWESOME! I made this for the first time for a birthday party and everyone loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Awesome! This dip is so easy to make, and it tastes great. I added a cup of milk to thin it out a bit. I used Tostito's HOT salsa and Jimmy Dean's ground sausage. I might use a little less sausage or maybe a different type of sausage next time... it has a little too much kick in it. I will definitely be making this time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This was sooo good, I made it for a football party we hosted at home. Could'nt stop eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Check, Virginia, USA
Living In: New Kent, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Great dip for a large group.....not sure how to keep it fluid without frequent stirring. My only question is what kind of 'sausage' does everyone use to prepare this? Ground Italian? Sausage pieces in casings? Spicy chorizo with casings removed? This ingredient is too vague for me to rate this recipe more than three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Saurer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Not bad but way too much for a casual get together. I probably would make again but would cut it way down as it made soooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This is a solid recipe, but being from Louisiana, I found the need add some flavor. The cheese was overpowering and it was very thick. I used cajun hot sausage, a pack of chili seasoning, put 20 or so leftover Taco Bell sauce packets to work, a few good splashes of Louisiana Crystal hot sauce, and some jalepeños. I also added around a cup of milk to thin it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
The best dip of this kind that I've tasted! Makes a large amount, great for a large or small (hungry) crowd. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States