Beefy Cabbage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I love earthy healthy recipes like this! Very simple, very good. I made a "greek seasoning" mix of 2 parts each oregano and onion powder; 1 part each garlic powder, black pepper, and cornstarch; and 1/2 part each cinnamon and nutmeg (you can also add salt and beef bouillion granules). I used 2 tsps of that and around 1 tsp of salt, decreased water to 1 cup and increased tomato juice to 2 cups. I also used 1-1/2 cups of locally-grown shoepeg corn instead of canned, which gave it a nice sweet crispness. I might try using something like Morningstar veggie crumbles next time to make this a vegetarian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
I used 1 1/2 lbs.sirloin steak, cut into pieces and sauted with 1 chopped onion and 2 cloves garlic...then proceeded. Also added more seasoning, which is hard to find but definitely worth the effort and is essential to this recipe, in my opinion. I'm a good and sophisticated cook and this is a very successful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I make this recipe excatly as it appears and everyone I have ever served it to has loved it. You can't substitute the Greek seasoning with anything else, it is what makes this stew so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Richards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I was really suprised with this recipe. There's really nothing to it. It was so easy to make and it tasted great! My whole family loved it! Even my father in law was impressed. But really, I will definitely make this again not only because of the taste but the ease of making it. It was also very inexpensive to make. My husband added sour cream and cheese to his and it makes a great taste as well. Definitely a must recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
A quick and easy delicious meal on a cold day. I served with a a pan of Jiffy mix cornbread and was able to mix everything in 15 minutes, let it simmer for 45 minutes, and serve it to my husband and picky 18 year old son. They're happily eating it again tonight for leftovers!**Definitely use the Greek seasoning...it makes the soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This was super easy to make and was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I loved the veggies in this soup. Didn't care for the Greek spices, will try Italian seasoning next time. I will freeze some for lunches next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I have to say, I was skeptical when I read over the ingredients since most of it was canned. This one really knocked it out of the park. It was so easy and so tasty, not to mention hearty & healthy. The only change was that I substituted Jimmy Dean hot sausage instead of hamburger. It turned out perfect, just the right amount of spicy. I also had to make my own greek-style seasoning since I couldn't find it in the store. I used a recipe I found on allrecipes.com. I will totally make this again especially for company since it makes so much and is so easy. We took half with us camping and it was better re-heated a few days later! This is a good way to impress people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Loved the addition of the slaw mix. a great variation is I store up left over meats, pork,steak chicken, in the freezer and pull them out to make chilis and/or stew. It worked very well with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
this was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States