Beefy Cabbage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I love earthy healthy recipes like this! Very simple, very good. I made a "greek seasoning" mix of 2 parts each oregano and onion powder; 1 part each garlic powder, black pepper, and cornstarch; and 1/2 part each cinnamon and nutmeg (you can also add salt and beef bouillion granules). I used 2 tsps of that and around 1 tsp of salt, decreased water to 1 cup and increased tomato juice to 2 cups. I also used 1-1/2 cups of locally-grown shoepeg corn instead of canned, which gave it a nice sweet crispness. I might try using something like Morningstar veggie crumbles next time to make this a vegetarian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This turned out much better than I expected. Because I was halving the recipe, I made the following adjustments: I used one can of dark kidney beans, a whole can of tomato with chilis (I didn't want four half-cans kicking around the fridge), and used regular green cabbage. I also added a dash of chili powder for some heat. Finally, I was glad that I had bought a large bottle of tomato juice because I found that I needed to add more during the one hour simmering process. It would have been way too dry otherwise. This is a really easy to prepare but tasty and comforting meal. Thanks, Kimberley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
I used 1 1/2 lbs.sirloin steak, cut into pieces and sauted with 1 chopped onion and 2 cloves garlic...then proceeded. Also added more seasoning, which is hard to find but definitely worth the effort and is essential to this recipe, in my opinion. I'm a good and sophisticated cook and this is a very successful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This is so easy, you won't believe it. Open the cans, brown the meat, and throw everything in the pot. The recipe has a slight spicy bite, but not overwhelming--just right. My wife thought it was excellent too. The Greek spice is a fine, fine touch. I will experiment with this spice in other dishes down the road. Do note that the Greek spice version I found does have MSG in it though. I'm eating healthy these days, so I used ground turkey. This is a very good recipe--and completely fool proof (if I can make it, you can too). Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This is pretty tasty. This recipe makes a lot and we just froze what was left over and thaw for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I was really suprised with this recipe. There's really nothing to it. It was so easy to make and it tasted great! My whole family loved it! Even my father in law was impressed. But really, I will definitely make this again not only because of the taste but the ease of making it. It was also very inexpensive to make. My husband added sour cream and cheese to his and it makes a great taste as well. Definitely a must recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I make this recipe excatly as it appears and everyone I have ever served it to has loved it. You can't substitute the Greek seasoning with anything else, it is what makes this stew so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Richards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I must say this recipe surprised me. It's wonderful! It's spicy (the Rotel tomatoes) yet sweet (the cabbage). I thought it would be somewhat similar to taco soup, but I like it better! Definitely a keeper! (Oh, I used Quorn instead of ground beef, lowering calories and cholesterol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Loved the addition of the slaw mix. a great variation is I store up left over meats, pork,steak chicken, in the freezer and pull them out to make chilis and/or stew. It worked very well with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I loved the veggies in this soup. Didn't care for the Greek spices, will try Italian seasoning next time. I will freeze some for lunches next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States