Beefy Cabbage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
I used 1 1/2 lbs.sirloin steak, cut into pieces and sauted with 1 chopped onion and 2 cloves garlic...then proceeded. Also added more seasoning, which is hard to find but definitely worth the effort and is essential to this recipe, in my opinion. I'm a good and sophisticated cook and this is a very successful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I make this recipe excatly as it appears and everyone I have ever served it to has loved it. You can't substitute the Greek seasoning with anything else, it is what makes this stew so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Richards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I was really suprised with this recipe. There's really nothing to it. It was so easy to make and it tasted great! My whole family loved it! Even my father in law was impressed. But really, I will definitely make this again not only because of the taste but the ease of making it. It was also very inexpensive to make. My husband added sour cream and cheese to his and it makes a great taste as well. Definitely a must recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Just OK for us. The only change I made was using ground venison instead of beef. We both thought this needed more flavoring. I added hot sauce, which helped. From previous reviews I was expecting something wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This is so easy, you won't believe it. Open the cans, brown the meat, and throw everything in the pot. The recipe has a slight spicy bite, but not overwhelming--just right. My wife thought it was excellent too. The Greek spice is a fine, fine touch. I will experiment with this spice in other dishes down the road. Do note that the Greek spice version I found does have MSG in it though. I'm eating healthy these days, so I used ground turkey. This is a very good recipe--and completely fool proof (if I can make it, you can too). Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This turned out much better than I expected. Because I was halving the recipe, I made the following adjustments: I used one can of dark kidney beans, a whole can of tomato with chilis (I didn't want four half-cans kicking around the fridge), and used regular green cabbage. I also added a dash of chili powder for some heat. Finally, I was glad that I had bought a large bottle of tomato juice because I found that I needed to add more during the one hour simmering process. It would have been way too dry otherwise. This is a really easy to prepare but tasty and comforting meal. Thanks, Kimberley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This is pretty tasty. This recipe makes a lot and we just froze what was left over and thaw for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Good, but not very exciting. Next time I will add some hot sauce or more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Great for a healthy meal. The hamburger gives a lot of flavor. I couldn't find the greek seasoning, so I played around with the spices & it still came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
A quick and easy delicious meal on a cold day. I served with a a pan of Jiffy mix cornbread and was able to mix everything in 15 minutes, let it simmer for 45 minutes, and serve it to my husband and picky 18 year old son. They're happily eating it again tonight for leftovers!**Definitely use the Greek seasoning...it makes the soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States