Beefy Cabbage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This was an incredibly delicious stew....more like a soup tho to me but nevertheless, yummy! I made up the greek seasoning with a recipe I found at this site. It makes a lot so we'll eat it another night too and won't mind at all! Lots of good flavor and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Really good! Made almost exactly as written except didn't have Greek seasoning, so used sprinkles of black pepper, dried parsley, paprika, ground cinnamon, thyme and chili powder. I also sauted onion, mushrooms and garlic with the ground beef. This makes a lot. Lots of leftovers, but even better flavor when reheated. Will make this again.....very healthy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Added a can of black beans and an onion and used a cut-up head of cabbage in place of mix. Added a beef and a chicken bouillon cube. Did not have Rotel or Italian style tomatoes, so used to cans petite diced. Did not use the corn either and did not drain the beans. Am glad for that, as there was almost not enough broth. But, after all the changes of necessity or taste, we both thought it was very tasty. Served with cornbread and lots of Tabasco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I did my cabbage and carrot in the food processor and did cut it back to about 12 oz (which was more than enough for us). When I first mixed this up and started simmering it, I really thought this was going to be a bust, void of any flavor. Some flavor did develop after cooking, but I did use some beef broth in place of some of the water and added some garlic powder, salt and pepper to ramp up the flavor. Super easy to make, and we thought it was OK. Nice "make-ahead" meal for a lazy weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I must say this recipe surprised me. It's wonderful! It's spicy (the Rotel tomatoes) yet sweet (the cabbage). I thought it would be somewhat similar to taco soup, but I like it better! Definitely a keeper! (Oh, I used Quorn instead of ground beef, lowering calories and cholesterol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
very good...great for a cold winter day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I just finished making this, even 'though I wasn't sure about the cooked cabbage. And, I couldn't find Greek spice, so used a pinch (each) of oregano and rosemary, plus a bit of minced onion and 1/4 tsp minced garlic. I have no doubt that the "real thing" (Greek seasoning) would be better, but I really enjoyed my first cup. Not too thick, but not runny, either, with a slight crunch from the slaw. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Is there supposed to be cabbage in this recipe or just taste like cabbage?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RF_Grill_Master

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Face, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I was unsure about this... it sounded odd w/the cabbage. My husband can't stop talking about it, and the kids asked for seconds! amazing. THANK YOU. This was super easy and I felt great serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi
Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I made this for my family tonight and it was wonderful! I used beef stock instead of water and that was the only thing I did different. I made some corn bread to go along with it. Fantastic meal! Easy, didn't take long and tasted pretty good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlet.B.Frog
Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States