Beefy Beef Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made some modifications for personal preferences and it came out great, and well-reviewed by whole family! Excluded the beef stew and tomato juice and added a beef oxo cube and two cans of tomato juice. Used cans of black and kidney beans instead of chili, and reduced chili powder to 1/4 teaspoon to reduce the spiciness. yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was a rather odd chili, but good-tasting. I wasn't sure of the purpose of the beef stew, nor the brand/kind so I added one large can of Dinty Moore. I also substituted V8 for the tomato juice, but put half of the amount called for (one 11-oz can), as I like my chili thicker. It was ready in the 30 minutes that my cornbread took!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bardstown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I used this recipe as an outline. I added green and red pepper, a little bit of cayenne and garlic clove. It turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
VERY simple... this was my first attempt at chili, and i wasn't totally faithful to every element of it...but using the premade stew totally worked... I'd suggest getting a saltier stew or using alot of seasoning on the ground beef, the spiciness was easy to get but i thought i could have flavored the meat more... awesome recipe, will definately try again, thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I cook lunch for 30 people everyday. This recipe was quick and easy!!! Which makes my job easy. You can't please everyone, but noone complained, they said it was different than any other chili they had, and enjoyed it. You need a little hot sauce though, if you like it spicy. I also added a bell pepper and let it simmer for an hour to make it tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscarora Reservation, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I'm not a big meat-cooker but my boyfriend is a big meat -eater so I made this for Valentines dinner and he was impressed! I was impressed at how easy it was to make! I'll definetely make this again! I used canned tomatoes instead of tomatoe juice and it made it nice and chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Recipe wasn't bad but there is no way you would use a 64 oz. bottle of tomato juice. I used a 46 oz. can and it was good and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I made this for my family and we loved it. I suggest that you make this for a large group. It makes a lot and it is very filling. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Easy to make, just cut of veggies and meat, make the broth part, combine all in a pot and cook for 5 hours and forget about it! The end result is worth waiting for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Quick and easy. I am always interested in new chili recipes because I'm trying to find one that my family will like. Mission accomplished! My 8 year old son asked for a second helping. I used canned beef chunks instead of prepared stew, I think that was the ingredient that closed the deal! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States