Beefy Baked Ziti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Simply delicious! This is very easy to throw together and perfect for a hearty weeknight meal. So if your're in the mood for Italian but think you don't have the time - think again. I added 1/2 lb. of sausage to the ground beef and onion along with some fresh minced garlic. And, to the sauce I added a little red wine and some Italian seasoning to give a bit of a flavor boost. The sour cream was a nice change from the usual ricotta cheese and I just eyeballed the other cheeses when layering. I covered it and baked it a little longer than 30 minutes leaving it uncovered for the last 10 minutes. Great with garlic bread and a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
very good with a few changes. First I used sausage instead of ground beef. Beef tends to be a bit bland for my tastes. Then I sauted garlic, basil, oregano, rosemary, and a dash of cayenne pepper with the onion. Otherwise kept it the same. My 4 star rating is without the changes, 5 stars with them. Very cheesy and flavorful that the whole family enjoyed. Thanks for the basic recipe Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, and ended up making it again only two or three days later. Absolutely delicious, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGIRL

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Was a "hit" with the family. It is simple to make and quite tasty. I added a little more cheese because everything tastes better with more cheese :). I also used penne pasta instead of ziti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marion, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very very tasty dish. I used ground chicken instead of beef, added fresh chopped garlic with the onion and chicken, and omitted the provolone because I can't get that cheese in Belgium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This dish was very good. Lots of flavor!! I made recipe as is, except added chopped garlic. My husband loved it. I will make this dish on a regular basis. It's that good. Great recipe Colleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This would have been amazing if I would have stuck to the recipe and used ground beef. I made the mistake of using hot italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very tasty. I used ground sausage instead of ground beef for a bit more flavor and it turned out awesome. For a healthier version use ground turkey sausage!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
We loved this! I made it 2 nights ago, we finished up leftovers tonight, and I'm making it to take to a friend with a new baby tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is so easy and really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Basic Baked Spaghetti

See how to make a simple weeknight favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States