Beefy Baked Ziti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Simply delicious! This is very easy to throw together and perfect for a hearty weeknight meal. So if your're in the mood for Italian but think you don't have the time - think again. I added 1/2 lb. of sausage to the ground beef and onion along with some fresh minced garlic. And, to the sauce I added a little red wine and some Italian seasoning to give a bit of a flavor boost. The sour cream was a nice change from the usual ricotta cheese and I just eyeballed the other cheeses when layering. I covered it and baked it a little longer than 30 minutes leaving it uncovered for the last 10 minutes. Great with garlic bread and a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
very good with a few changes. First I used sausage instead of ground beef. Beef tends to be a bit bland for my tastes. Then I sauted garlic, basil, oregano, rosemary, and a dash of cayenne pepper with the onion. Otherwise kept it the same. My 4 star rating is without the changes, 5 stars with them. Very cheesy and flavorful that the whole family enjoyed. Thanks for the basic recipe Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, and ended up making it again only two or three days later. Absolutely delicious, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGIRL

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Was a "hit" with the family. It is simple to make and quite tasty. I added a little more cheese because everything tastes better with more cheese :). I also used penne pasta instead of ziti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marion, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very very tasty dish. I used ground chicken instead of beef, added fresh chopped garlic with the onion and chicken, and omitted the provolone because I can't get that cheese in Belgium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This dish was very good. Lots of flavor!! I made recipe as is, except added chopped garlic. My husband loved it. I will make this dish on a regular basis. It's that good. Great recipe Colleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This would have been amazing if I would have stuck to the recipe and used ground beef. I made the mistake of using hot italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very tasty. I used ground sausage instead of ground beef for a bit more flavor and it turned out awesome. For a healthier version use ground turkey sausage!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
We loved this! I made it 2 nights ago, we finished up leftovers tonight, and I'm making it to take to a friend with a new baby tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is so easy and really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Basic Baked Spaghetti

See how to make a simple weeknight favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States